Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

Fashionable science for a safer future

Australia Plus feature Dr Hurren's research into the fabric used for motorcyclist clothing.

Process takes textile recycling to new level

A new process to separate blends of cotton-polyester material provides a major breakthrough for recycling textile and other waste.

A different drum

Dr Rangam Rajkhowa's silky solution to hearing loss.

Caterpillar spins a silky sunscreen

IFM researchers show that compounds in silk cocoons have UV-protecting properties.

Silky skills

Dr Jin Zhang wins Endeavour Fellowship.

Our People

Professors

An image of Professor Xungai Wang Professor Xungai Wang
Director Australian Future Fibres Research & Innovation Centre
Alfred Deakin Professor
An image of Professor Tong Lin Professor Tong Lin
ARC Future Fellow

Senior Research Fellows

An image of Dr Nolene Byrne Dr Nolene Byrne
Senior Research Fellow
An image of Dr Bruce McGregor Dr Bruce McGregor
Senior Research Fellow
An image of Dr Jingliang Li Dr Jingliang Li
Senior Research Fellow
An image of Dr Cynthia Wong Dr Cynthia Wong
Senior Research Fellow

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Ben Allardyce
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Silk-based biomaterials ben.allardyce@deakin.edu.au
Dr Yong Du
Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellow
Functional Fibres yong.du@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jian Fang
Research Fellow
Nanofibres jian.fang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Christopher Hurren
Research Fellow
Hemp fibres, biomaterials and functional fabrics christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
Dr Qing Li
Research Fellow
Property characterisation of fibre/fabric during manufacture and functional textile materials qing.li@deakin.edu.au
Dr Zhenyu Li
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Nanofibres zhenyu.li@deakin.edu.au
Dr Xin Liu
Research Fellow
Natural fibres and textiles xin.liu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Maryam Naebe
Research Fellow
Comfort properties of next-to-skin wool materials maryam.naebe@deakin.edu.au
Dr Haitao Niu
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres haitao.niu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Chuanxiang Qin
Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Nanofibres chuanxiang.qin@deakin.edu.au
Dr Rangam Rajkhowa
Research Fellow
Natural fibre processing and silk-based biomaterials rangam.rajkhowa@deakin.edu.au
Dr Lu Sun
Research Fellow
Using functional nanoparticles to prevent wool yellowing lu.sun@deakin.edu.au
Dr Alessandra Sutti
Research Fellow
Biomaterials alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
Dr Hongxia Wang
Research Fellow
Functional fibres hong.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jinfeng Wang
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Functional fibrous materials and applications such as UV protection and odour removal jinfeng.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jing Wang
Research Fellow
Natural fibre separation and applications jing.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jin Zhang
Research Fellow
Biological composites and protective materials jin.zhang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Yan Zhao
Research Fellow
Functional fibres yan.zhao@deakin.edu.au

Students

Name Research Topic Contact
Zengxiao Cai Three-dimensional fibrous scaffolds with a nano-structural functional surface zengxiao@deakin.edu.au
Genevieve Crowle Differential dye uptake of Australian cotton fibre gacr@deakin.edu.au
Saeed Dadvar Multifunctional nanofibrous materials with superb characteristics sdadva@deakin.edu.au
Chantal Denham Defining and applying the glass transition of cotton cdenham@deakin.edu.au
Rasike De Silva Green natural fibre materials: processing, characterisation and applications rdesil@deakin.edu.au
Shan Du Functional silk materials: fabrication and applications shand@deakin.edu.au
Linpeng Fan Self-reinforced three-dimensional silk fibroin nanofibre based scaffolds for bone tissue engineering linpeng@deakin.edu.au
Xing Jin Modelling of heat and moisture transfer through silkworm cocoon jxing@deakin.edu.au
Jasjeet Kaur Photoprotection by silk cocoons jkaur@deakin.edu.au
Mehdi Kazemimostaghim Silk powder production, characterisation and application mkazemim@deakin.edu.au
Xueyang Liu Preparation of electrostatic spinning anti-ultraviolet nanofibress xueyang@deakin.edu.au
Sepehr Moradi Cashmere and hair smoradi@deakin.edu.au
Esfandiar Pakdel Enhancing textile features unsing nanocomposites epakdel@deakin.edu.au
Amol Janardan Patil Enhancement of durability of polymer coated textiles amolp@deakin.edu.au
Hao Shao Novel piezoelectric generators from electrospun nanofibres hao.shao@deakin.edu.au
Muhammad Nadeem Shuakat How nanofibre generators affect properties and productivity of nanofibre yarn mshuakat@deakin.edu.au
Charanpreet Singh A biomimetic approach for designing cardiovascular stent graft structures csingh@deakin.edu.au
Marinus van der Sluijs The mechanism of nep formation in Australian cotton processing mvanders@deakin.edu.au
Yao Yu UV interaction with fibres and fibrous structures yaoy@deakin.edu.au
Chao Zeng Novel methods and technologies to obtain water-controlled fabrics zech@deakin.edu.au
Mingwen Zhang Synthesis of functional nanoparticles to prevent wool yellowing mingwen@deakin.edu.au
Hua Zhou Durable, non-wetting fabrics: their preparation and wetting function hua.zhou@deakin.edu.au
Licheng Zhu Novel fabric structures and their properties lichengz@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

3rd March 2014