Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

New method uncovers highly porous graphene

IFM researchers have developed a new, highly efficient method of preparing porous and reduced graphene oxide.

Putting tiny diagnostics to the test

A portable device that uses 'smart matter' could transform medical diagnosis in developing countries.

Our People

Lead Investigators

An image of Professor Lingxue Kong Professor Lingxue Kong
Professor in Micro and Nanosystems
An image of Dr Mary She Dr Mary She
Senior Research Fellow in Membrane Characterisation

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Weimin Gao
Research Fellow in Fluid Dynamics
Computational fluid dynamics and molecular dynamics weimin.gao@deakin.edu.au
Dr Sugumar Dharmalingam
Research Fellow
Molecular diagnostics, and micro- and nano-fluidics sugumar.dharmalingam@deakin.edu.au
Dr Zheng Peng
Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral in Polymer Materials
Conductive polymer materials and micro- and nano- devices zheng.peng@deakin.edu.au
Dr Ludovic Dumée
Research Fellow in Metal Membranes
Fabrication and characterisation of nano-porous materials ludovic.dumee@deakin.edu.au
Dr Leonora Velleman
Research Fellow in Membrane Materials
Metallic membrane fabrication and surface enhanced Raman (SERS) substrates for ultrasensitive biosensing leonora.velleman@deakin.edu.au
Dr Li He
Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral in Membrane Materials
Composite membranes and metal-organic-framework (MOF) membranes li.he@deakin.edu.au

STUDENTS

Name Research Topic Contact
Bao Lin Porous de-alloyed metal membranes fabrication for desalination by membrane evaporation baol@deakin.edu.au
Chengpeng Li Synergistic reinforcement, crystallization and degradation of PVA-graphene-clay composites chengpen@deakin.edu.au
Chunfang Feng Stretchable graphene-based materials of high conductivity chunfang@deakin.edu.au
Feng An Aquaporins and laticifer turgor pressure in Hevea yield: mechanism of Ethrel stimulation an@deakin.edu.au
Francois-Marie Allioux Hybrid ion exchange membranes fabrication and characterisation f.allioux@deakin.edu.au
Guang Wang Preparation of aligned mesoporous polymeric membrane within lyotropic liquid crystal templates and its properties guangw@deakin.edu.au
Lijue Chen Co-delivery of rluorouracil and siRNA by mesoporous silica nanoparticles to drug resistant colorectal cancer lijue@deakin.edu.au
Tahir Ghandoori Rapid prototyping of polycarbonate microfluidic devices using a CO₂ laser tgandour@deakin.edu.au
Weiwei Cong Alignment of lyotropical liquid crystalline nanostructure under external magnetic / electric field for membrane synthesis wcon@deakin.edu.au
Xiangping Sun Machine learning based texture classification sxian@deakin.edu.au
Xiaowei Dong Porous structure of NiO/YSZ for DCFCs: electrostatic attraction approach and bimodal strengthening xwd@deakin.edu.au
Xiaodong She Tailored hollow mesoporous silica nanoplatforms for colon targeting drug delivery systems sxiaod@deakin.edu.au
Xinchu Zhao Functionalisation of microfluidics surface for molecular detection xinchu@deakin.edu.au
Yanan Lv Molecular dynamics simulation of transition metal carbides lyana@deakin.edu.au
Yongzhen Li Fabrication of nano/micro- fibres from electrospinning of natural rubber for biomedical application lyongz@deakin.edu.au
Youhai Qiu Robust object detection under partial occlusion youhaiq@deakin.edu.au
Yuanyuan Guo Recombinant gene expression to harvest super performance biomedical materials gyuanyu@deakin.edu.au
Zhifeng Yi Functionalized mesoporous silica nanoparticles for smart agrichemical delivery system yzhi@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

30th January 2014