Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

Stamping Technology in Automotive Manufacturing Process (STAMP)

An industrially and government funded collaboration between Ford Australia, BlueScope Steel, Castrol, SIRF, The ARC and Deakin University.

The STAMP program is a collaboration between the School of Engineering and Technology and:

  • The Ford Motor Company of Australia
  • The Ford Motor Company (International)
  • Castrol Australia
  • BlueScope Steel, Australia.
  • The School of Engineering, Australian National University.
  • The program's main focus is to optimise the sheetmetal-forming processes used by the Ford Motor Company of Australia.

STAMP is funded by contributions from each of the industry partners. In addition, further funding has been obtained from State and Federal government sources.

STAMP's major areas of interest are:

  • Metal flow during forming operations
  • The optimisation of lubrication in sheet metal forming
  • Die-coatings on sheet metal forming - chromium
  • The effect of new steels such as bake hardenable steels
  • The effect of coatings on steels - e.g. zincalume coatings
  • Wear of dies during metal forming operations.

The research of the STAMP program is performed in the industrial partners' production facilities using actual production equipment. This research is performed by Masters students who spend 80% of their time on-site.
Whilst, on-site the students act as employees of the industrial partner and are entered into the companies graduate training programs. Several students have have moved on to challenging new positions within the industrial partners.
The student's spend the remainder of their time at Deakin University where the receive supervision and conduct necessary background work such as literature searches.

Further information can be obtained from:

Professor Peter Hodgson
Institute for Frontier Materials
Deakin University
Geelong, Vic. 3217
Telephone: 03 5227 1251
Fax: 03 5227 1103

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

9th February 2012