Deakin Research

Deakin Research

Laboratory and Biosafety Committee (LBC)

The Laboratory and Biosafety Committee (LBC) is a Committee of the Vice Chancellor. It provides expert advice to the Vice Chancellor on laboratory, biosafety and biosecurity issues related to research and other academic activities. It will consider projects requiring biosafety clearance in accordance with guidelines set by the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (OGTR), and inspects Physical Containment (PC1 and PC2) facilities.

The Committee meets between 4 and 6 times a year to discuss business, applications and policies. The Biosafety and Biosecurity Officer Denise Elson is available to meet researchers to discuss applications prior to their submission to the Committee. If you require help with writing an application please contact Denise Elson.

Schools/Areas should inspect PC1 and PC2 facilities annually for compliance with the Australian Standard for microbiological safety in laboratories, AS/NZS 2243.3.  In addition, OGTR-certified facilities are inspected annually by the Biosafety and Biosecurity Officer. AQIS auditors inspect DAFF Biosecurity (AQIS) Quarantine Approved Premises (QAPs) once or twice a year.  

For advice or additional information about facility inspections or the construction and/or refurbishment of laboratory facilities, please contact the biosafety team.

LBC Terms of Reference

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

23rd March 2012