Awards to other ARC Schemes for 2000


Research Infrastructure Equipment and Facilities Scheme

Glow Discharge Spectrometer for Surface Analysis - Prof PD Hodgson

Deakin University (Lead Site), Monash University, La Trobe University, Swinburne University of Technology, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Quality Heat Technologies Pty Ltd, CSIRO, Strategic Industry Research Foundation Ltd

Whole Room Human Calorimetry Facility - Prof GR Collier

University of Wollongong (Lead Site), University of Sydney, Deakin University

The Australian Literature Electronic Gateway (ALEG) - Dr W Ommundsen

The University of New South Wales (Lead Site), The University of Queensland, Monash University, The Flinders University of South Australia, The University of Western Australia, Deakin University, The University of Sydney, University of Canberra, The National Library $300,000

A Combinatorial Chemistry Facility - Prof D Dakternieks

Monash University (Lead Site), Deakin University, CSIRO, BIOTA Holdings, Chiron

Research Fellowships

The molecular basis of mitochondrial division

Dr PR Gilson (Biological & Chemical Sciences)
Australian Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

Summary: I am seeking to understand how mitochondria, the essential energy producing compartments of cells, divide and are handed down through cellular generations. Since we know that mitochondria are derived from bacteria that were engulfed and retained by cells over a billion years ago, I will exploit recent advances in studies of bacterial division molecules to look for similar molecules in mitochondria. I already have results indicating that the bacterial division protein, FtsZ, is present in mitochondria, and will use this exciting advance as a basis for work that will lead to a model for the division of all mitochondria.


Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

1st December 2009