Linkage-Infrastructure and Equipment Facilities Program Grants to Commence 2010

Institute for Technology Research & Innovation



Prof Ying I Chen, A/Prof Matthew R Barnett, Prof Peter D Hodgson, Prof Xungai Wang, Dr Takuya Tsuzuki, Dr Cui'e Wen, Dr Alexey M Glushenkov, A/Prof Lingxue Kong, Prof Charles C Sorrell, Dr Yuebin Zhang, Prof Vicki Chen, Dr Dominic J Phelan, Dr Ken Walder, Dr Germanas Peleckis, Dr Simon E Moulton, Prof John H Beynon, Prof Dr Xiaolin Wang, Prof David M Cahill, Dr Pavel Cizek, Prof Neil W Barnett, Dr Nicole Stanford, Prof Qipeng Guo, Dr Robert G O'Donnell

Title: Field emission gun transmission electron microscope for the research in nanomaterials, metal alloys and biological sciences

2010 : $1,000,000.00


Partner/Collaborating Organisation(s)
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Swinburne University of Technology, The University of New South Wales, University of Wollongong

Administering Organisation: Deakin University

Project Summary:
The proposed facility is required by a large range of world leading research programs in light metals, nanomaterials, fibres and biomaterials. These research programs are strongly supported by automobile, textile, mineral and advanced materials industries that have important roles in the current national economy and local communities. The facility will improve significantly our current research ability and help the creation of new research areas in nanotechnology and energy materials beneficial to clean energy, environmental protections and health care. It is also important equipment for new research student training.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

17th March 2011