Deakin dietitian wins prestigious national award

26 May 2011

Dr Sarah McNaughton receives Outstanding Contribution Award from DAA.

Dr Sarah McNaughton from Deakin University's Centre for Physical Activity and Nutrional Research (CPAN) is among five dietitians to receive the prestigious Outstanding Contribution Award from the Dietitians Association of Australia.

This national award recognises service to DAA and the dietetics profession at the highest level.

"DAA is extremely proud of the outstanding commitment these dietitians have shown to the Association, especially over the past three years, the Association's president Julie Dundon said.

"They have inspired excellence in practice among their colleagues and peers."

In addition to Dr McNaughton, the other winners were Merrilyn Banks, Toni Eames, Anne-Marie Mackintosh and Marie Smith.

Dr McNaughton's citation for the award reads:

Sarah has been an Associate Editor of DAA’s peer-reviewed journal Nutrition & Dietetics since 2003. Last year she convened a strategic workshop at the DAA National Conference. Sarah is an active researcher with a career total of 41 peer-reviewed journal publications. She was recently awarded an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship to continue her research in public health nutrition.

More like this!

Research news