Human Research Ethics Committee

Human Research Ethics Committees are responsible for ensuring that all human research complies with the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (the National Statement) and is ethically acceptable.

The Deakin University Human Research Ethics Committee (DUHREC)

DUHREC is comprised of two panels, one based at Geelong and the other based at Melbourne. The composition of each panel complies with the requirements of the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research, NHMRC, 2007

Geelong Panel 2014

Chair Prof Mari Botti
Deputy Chair Dr Mary Lou Chatterton 
Biostatistician Dr Mohammadreza Mohebbi
Lawyer Mr Peter Spear 
Lawyer Ms Wendy Gibbons
Layman Mr Bernard Nicholls
Layman Mr Daniel Clair
Laywoman Ms Judith Vardy
Laywoman Ms Sally White
Laywoman Ms Susanna Keith
Pastoral Carer Rev Dr Tim Smith
Professional Carer Dr Bill McKellar
Researcher A/Prof Kristin Demetrious
Researcher A/Prof Mark Luther
Researcher  Dr Leanne Morris
Researcher Dr Lisa Hanna 
ResearcherDr Phillip Swain
Researcher  Prof Gerard Gill
Researcher Prof Trisha Dunning

Melbourne Panel 2014

Chair Prof Mari Botti 
BiostatisticianDr Lucy Busija
LawyerMr Paul Natoli
LawyerMs Arwen Johns
LaymanDr Tony Dawson
LaywomanMs Judy Chambers 
Pastoral CarerRev Chris Appleby 
Professional CarerDr Jack Crozier
Professional CarerDr Louis Cukierman
ResearcherA/Prof Mark Stokes
ResearcherA/Prof Peter Enticott
ResearcherDr Achinto Roy
ResearcherDr Andrea Vocino
ResearcherDr Glenn Auld
ResearcherProfessor Susan Balandin

Human Ethics Advisory Groups (HEAGs)

The National Statement recognises that research may carry different levels of risk and defines 'low risk research' as "research in which the only foreseeable risk is one of discomfort."

At Deakin University, low risk research is reviewed by HEAGs which are comprised of specially trained academic staff members from within each the four Faculties (Arts & Education, Business and Law, Health and Science, Engineering and the Built Environment).

Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: