Stellar night for Deakin

Professor Wei Duan wins Researcher of the Year Award.

Professor Wei Duan
Professor Wei Duan

Deakin University has had a stellar night at the Smart Geelong Network Researcher of the Year Awards.

Professor Wei Duan won the Researcher of the Year Award, while Dr Tania de Koning-Ward won the Highly Commended Award.

Professor Duan also won the Smart Technology award for his project developing cancer stem-targeting molecular missiles for smart cancer medicines.

Dr de Koning-Ward also won the Biotechnology category for her work into understanding how malaria parasites cause disease so as to be able to identify strategies to reduce the global burden of malaria.

Other winners from Deakin were:

Nisa Salim in the Early Career Research Category.

Dr Sarah Louise Shigdar in the Health and Lifestyle Category.

"I wish to congratulate all the winners," said Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Lee Astheimer.

"These results re-inforce all our efforts to increase Deakin's research profile in recent years."

Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: