Deakin salutes research luminaries

Six researchers have received Deakin's highest honour - Alfred Deakin Professorships.

Six researchers have received Deakin's highest honour - Alfred Deakin Professorships.
Six researchers have received Deakin's highest honour - Alfred Deakin Professorships.

Deakin University Council has conferred Deakin’s highest honour, the title of Alfred Deakin Professor, on six stellar researchers, who have made outstanding contributions to their field.

Each researcher has: an international reputation within their discipline; published extensively; demonstrated exemplary commitment to higher education and mentoring of students; and contributed to research strides within their field.

Congratulations to the 2014 Alfred Deakin Professors:

Professor Matthew Barnett

Professor Matthew Barnett, Australian Research Council Future Fellow and Chair in Metallurgy, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment.

Professor Barnett joined Deakin University in 1999 as a Research Fellow in the School of Engineering and Technology. He has since become internationally recognised as a leading researcher in the field of deformation behaviour of steels and light metals. His 159 papers have been widely cited.

In the past 10 years, Professor Barnett has secured research funding of more than $12 million from various sources, including more than $7 million from the Australian Research Council (ARC). He has built a very successful research team in light metals, which has won more than seven ARC grants, most notably $2.5m for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Design in Light Metals and $600K for the prestigious ARC Future Fellowship.

Professor Kylie Ball

Professor Kylie Ball, Personal Chair, School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, Faculty of Health.

Since joining Deakin in 1999, Professor Ball has been awarded four prestigious research fellowships from the National Heart Foundation and the NHMRC, including her current Principal Research Fellowship - one of the most senior fellowships awarded by the NHMRC.

Professor Ball was named 2010 Deakin University “Researcher of the Year” and, among numerous external awards, received the Australian Institute of Science and Policy “Victorian Young Tall Poppy of the Year Award” in 2008-09.

Professor Ball's research is concerned with socioeconomic inequalities in health, particularly in nutrition, physical activity and obesity. She has published 188 journal papers, 10 book chapters, and one edited book. Her research on obesity prevention has been influential in shaping national policy and she has played a lead role in the establishment of Deakin's Centre for Physical Activity and Nutrition Research (CPAN).

Professor Clare Bradford

Professor Clare Bradford, Personal Chair, School of Communications and Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts and Education.

Professor Bradford joined Deakin University in 1988 and has centred her research on the interplay between children's literature and the social practices it represents and advocates. Her research has focussed on three strands: representations of Indigenous cultures in children's texts; examining children's literature, following the end of the Cold War; and Australian children's texts since 1990.

Professor Bradford has published eight books and, in 2009, was awarded the first prestigious $225,000 Trudeau Visiting Fellowship Prize from the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation. She is the Director of Deakin’s Centre for Memory, Imagination and Invention (CMII), which draws from the disciplines of cultural heritage studies, museology, architecture, literary studies, creative arts and design.

Professor Mike Ewing

Professor Mike Ewing, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Executive Dean), Business and Law.

Professor Ewing joined Deakin in March 2014, after twelve years at Monash, and an earlier six at Curtin University. His research interests include marketing communications, marketing strategy, brand management, and health promotion.

His research has been published extensively, with two recent meta-analyses placing him in the top two most productive marketing communications researchers worldwide.

Over the past 20 years, Professor Ewing has taught in 15 countries and received numerous awards and citations, including three consecutive UK Academy of Marketing best paper awards. He has consulted to companies as diverse as Ford, Coca Cola, Unilever, Nissan, Telekom Austria, the WA government and many others.

Professor Graeme Hays

Professor Graeme Hays, Chair in Marine Science in the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment.

Professor Hays came to Deakin in 2013 from Swansea University, UK. He is recognised internationally as a leading scholar in the areas of marine science, including behavioural, physiological and molecular ecology, as well as biological oceanography.

He is Deputy Director of Deakin's Strategic Research Centre of Integrative Ecology and plays a critical leadership role in driving research in the area of marine science. His publications have received over 9,900 citations, with performance indicators placing him among the most competitive research performers in his field globally.

His research has received wide media interest, particularly concerning his turtle satellite tracking studies.

Professor Ivan Stojmenovic

Professor Ivan Stojmenovic, Professor of Computer Science, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment.

Professor Stojmenovic joined Deakin in 2014 from the University of Ottawa, Canada. He has held regular or visiting positions in 11 countries and served as editor-in-chief of “IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems” (2010-2013). He currently edits a dozen journals, and is founder and editor-in-chief of three more.

Professor Stojmenovic has published more than 300 papers and edited four books on wireless ad hoc and sensor networks and applied algorithms. He is on Thomson Reuters' list of Highly Cited Researchers, with research interests including wireless ad hoc, sensor, vehicular, actuator and robot networks.

Other research interests cover security, parallel computing, multiple-valued logic, evolutionary computing, neural networks, combinatorial algorithms, and computational geometry.

Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: