Go Girl Go for IT

Go Girl, Go for IT 2012 was recently held at the Melbourne Burwood Campus in June 2012.

An initiative of 'Women are IT' and proudly presented by the Vic ICT for Women Network, this free, 2 day event for girls saw 750 secondary students and teachers participate in the innovative careers showcase.

Supported by generous sponsors and powered by many passionate volunteers, GGGIT is designed to deliver some targeted messages about careers in IT in a fun and engaging forum.

With Janet Matton, VP of Operations at IBM, Australia and NZ as the 2012 patron and 2 Young Patrons in Jessica Scott and Tammy Butow; as well as a stellar line-up of speakers to complete the program; the students had many positive role models.

The girls had an opportunity to interact with some of Australia's top IT employers and to discuss the range of career options that are available to them by visiting the trade show over the lunch break. This highlighted for the students the practical ways in which studying IT can provide a head start for any occupation.

This was the the fourth time Deakin has hosted this event, which received great feedback from participants.

You Go Girl!

The Victorian Women in ICT Network has paid tribute to School of Information Technology Associate Professor Jo Coldwell-Neilson, by having her name inscribed on The Shilling Wall at the Queen Victoria Women's Centre.

This is wonderful recognition of Jo's hard work being an integral part of the Go Girl Go For IT Schools Expo in 2008, 2010 and 2012. It also acknowledges Jo's efforts as an active organiser in any conference for women in ICT and also organising dinners which bring together women in ICT from business and academic circles.

The Shilling Wall and Garden provide a place in the heart of Melbourne 'to reflect on inspiring women who have made a difference'. The glass wall is 'an enduring tribute to women and is inscribed with the names of incredible women, celebrating their roles as mothers, grandmothers, caregivers, sisters, friends, colleagues and community contributors'.

Back to top