2012 iAwards

2012 iAwards

Congratulations to School of Informatin Technology's Dr Kok-Leong Ong and Team Alloy on winning the award of Merit at the 2012 VIC iAwards in the Tertiary Student Project category for their submission: a mobile app project called 'Alloy- A Social Meta Search Engine' (http://vimeo.com/42128373).

iAwards, jointly presented by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) and Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA), is targeted at 'Australia's best' and honours the outstanding achievements of those exceptional home-grown innovators who have made exemplary contributions to the ICT industry over the past 12 months.

On being presented with the award by the Hon. Louise Asher, Minister for Innovation, Services and Small Business, the team advanced through to the 2012 National iAward final, where they competed in the Tertiary Student Project category against all Australian state and territory winners.

The Team made it through to the final four, however Edith Cowan University were announced as the winners. Although they didn't win, the team found this to be a great learning experience. The students in particular felt they gained excellent exposure to the IT industry and this has been a great highlight in their course.

Team Alloy consists of Honours students, Jing Zhang and David Wang, and third year students, Vin Guo and Feng Hao, supported by Senior Lecturer, Dr Kok-Leong Ong.

Back to top