History of the R&D Topics Conference

The RACI Research and Development Topics conference was founded in 1992 by Professor Neil W. Barnett (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Deakin University), with the first meeting being held in 1993 at Deakin University. Since then, fifteen universities from around Australia have successfully hosted the meeting, which typically attracts upwards of 100 delegates and is widely considered the premier conference in its field in Australia.

Based on a similar conference (the Analytical Research Forum) run by the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), the meeting is attended and organised primarily by postgraduate students (honours, masters, PhD students and young researchers in industry) who are currently undertaking research in analytical and/or environmental chemistry, with supervisors and company representatives also welcome to attend.

Now celebrating its 20th anniversary, the long running status of R&D Topics is a tribute to the great success of this conference format, with many former students now attending the conference as supervisors.

Year Venue
1993 Deakin University, Victoria
1994 University of Canberra, ACT
1995 University of Newcastle, New South Wales
1996 RMIT, Victoria
1997 Deakin University, Victoria
1998 University of Tasmania, Tasmania
1999 UNSW, New South Wales
2000 Charles Sturt University, New South Wales
2001 RMIT, Victoria
2002 Deakin University, Victoria
2003 University of Western Sydney, New South Wales
2004 University of Melbourne, Victoria
2005 Monash University, Victoria
2006 University of Wollongong, New South Wales
2007 Flinders University, South Australia
2008 Macquarie University, New South Wales
2009 Griffith University, Queensland
2010 University of Tasmania, Tasmania
2011 La Trobe University, Victoria
2012 Deakin University, Victoria

Back to top