Geoff Wilson Medal

The Geoff Wilson medal is awarded annually to eminent scientists judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the Faculty in the international arena, in research, teaching or administration.

The medal is in honour of Professor Geoffrey Victor Herbert Wilson AM and honours a life-long contribution to Science and Education.

Professor Geoffrey Wilson, or Geoff, as he prefers to be known, was formerly a Vice-Chancellor of Deakin.

He was a pioneer in temperature modulation of magnetic materials and led the first successful detection of pulsed magnetic resonance through the observation of the nuclear radiations.

In recognition of his long and substantial career in education, Professor Wilson was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

Geoff Wilson Medal

More information about Professor Wilson

Highlights of his career include:

  • being made a Nuffield Fellow
  • a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow, and
  • at one time, Professor of Physics at university of New South Wales (UNSW)

He has made a major contribution to Science both nationally and internationally and at various times was Chair of The Federation of the Australian Scientific and Technological Society, Inaugural Chair of the Research Grants Committee of the ARC and President of the Australian Institute of Physics.

He served as Rector of the Australian Defence Forces Academy and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Central Queensland.

In the course of a distinguished research career at Monash University, UNSW, Oxford University and the Free University of Berlin, Professor Wilson carried out research on very low temperatures in the milliKelvin range and magnetic materials He published extensively in international journals and supervised many higher degree students.


Nominations should be forwarded to:

Teresa Treffry
Administrative Officer - Research
Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment
Phone: +61 3 5563 3535

The nomination must be no more than one page of single-spaced 12 pt font and outline the outstanding contribution that the nominee has made to the Faculty.

List of Recipients


Professor Elo H Hansen
Department of Chemistry
Technical University of Denmark

Professor Gary D Christian
Department of Chemistry
University of Washington
United States of America

Professor Alan Townshend
Department of Chemistry
University of Hull
United Kingdom

Professor John J Jonas
McGill University
Department of Mining, Metals and Materials Engineering

Professor John H Beynon
Department of Engineering Materials
University of Sheffield
United Kingdom


Professor Yoshio Takei
Department of Marine Life Science
University of Tokyo

Professor Andrew Barry
School of Architecture , Civil and
Environmental Engineering
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)



Professor Ian Edwards
Archaeology and Materials Research Unit (AMRU)
School of Ecology and Environment
Deakin University

Dr Philip Jones
University of Plymouth
United Kingdom


Emeritus Professor John Duncan
University of Auckland
New Zealand


Professor Michael Adams
RMIT University


(The medal was not awarded 2008 - 2010)


Lt Col Roger David Lewis OBE


Professor William Bevis Hutchinson
KIMAB Metals Institute
Stockholm, Sweden


(The medal was not awarded in 2013)

Page custodian: Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment
Last updated: