The Geoff Wilson Medal

The Geoff Wilson medal is awarded annually by the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment at Deakin University to celebrate the career of Professor Geoffrey Victor Herbert Wilson AM. A limited number of medals are awarded each year to eminent scientists, judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the Faculty in the international arena, in research, teaching or administration.

Nominations should be forwarded to:

Teresa Treffry
Administrative Officer - Research
Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment
Phone: 03 5563 3535 | Email:

The nomination must be no more than one page of single spaced 12 pt font and outline the outstanding contribution that the nominee has made to the Faculty.

Professor Geoffrey Victor Herbert Wilson AM or Geoff, as he prefers to be known, is a former Vice-Chancellor of Deakin University. Highlights of his career include being made a Nuffield Fellow, a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow and at one time Professor of Physics at UNSW. He has made a major contribution to Science both nationally and internationally and at various times was Chair of The Federation of the Australian Scientific and Technological Society, Inaugural Chair of the Research Grants Committee of the ARC and President of the Australian Institute of Physics. He served as Rector of the Australian Defence Forces Academy, Vice-Chancellor of The University of Central Queensland and as Vice-Chancellor of Deakin University.

In the course of a distinguished research career at Monash University, UNSW, Oxford University and the Free University of Berlin, Professor Wilson carried out research on very low temperatures in the milliKelvin range and magnetic materials He published extensively in international journals and supervised many higher degree students.

He was a pioneer in temperature modulation of magnetic materials and led the first successful detection of pulsed magnetic resonance through the observation of the nuclear radiations. In recognition of his long and substantial career in education, Professor Wilson was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

The Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment honours a life-long contribution to Science and Education with the annual awards of the Geoff Wilson Medal.

List of Recipients

2003 Professor Elo H Hansen
Department of Chemistry
Technical University of Denmark
Professor Gary D Christian
Department of Chemistry
University of Washington
United States of America
Professor Alan Townshend
Department of Chemistry
University of Hull
United Kingdom
Professor John J Jonas
McGill University
Department of Mining, Metals and Materials Engineering
Professor John H Beynon
Department of Engineering Materials
University of Sheffield
United Kingdom
2004 Professor Yoshio Takei
Department of Marine Life Science
University of Tokyo
Professor Andrew Barry
School of Architecture , Civil and
Environmental Engineering
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)
2005 Professor Ian Edwards
Archaeology and Materials Research Unit (AMRU)
School of Ecology and Environment
Deakin University
Dr Philip Jones
University of Plymouth
United Kingdom
2006 Emeritus Professor John Duncan
University of Auckland
New Zealand
2007 Professor Michael Adams
RMIT University
2008-2010 (The medal was not awarded 2008 - 2010)
2011 Lt Col Roger David Lewis OBE
2012 Professor William Bevis Hutchinson
KIMAB Metals Institute
Stockholm, Sweden
2013 (The medal was not awarded in 2013)

Back to top