Deakin College

Deakin College is named after Australia’s second Prime Minister, Alfred Deakin.

Deakin College was the first College at Deakin University. In 1973 the Gordon Institute Council formed a building committee to oversee the construction of two residential blocks. The Collins and Laird blocks were the first buildings erected, providing accommodation for 60 students.
They are named after Arthur Collins, head of the Gordon Institute’s Architecture Department, and Ewen Laird, a member of the Gordon Institute Council and a leading local architect.

A block of eight flats adjacent to the Collins and Laird block, the Wookey Flats, were added to the residences in 1977. They were named after Don Wookey who was the Manager of Shell and President of the Gordon Institute of Technology Council.

Five 12 bedroom units, known as the Boyd units were completed and opened in 1982, and named after David Boyd, the last Principal of the State College of Victoria (Geelong). Boyd 1 provides full access for disabled students.

The Gordon units were a duplication of the Boyd units, and were added in 1985. These units were named after General Gordon of Khartoum fame, also the dedication name for the Gordon Institute.
Deakin College accommodates 213 students in a co-residential setting, plus 30 new residential places for medical school students.

In 2011, the University opened a new exciting medical school student housing precinct of 30 places for first and second year medical school students. These premises comprise 10x3 bedroom units, which have their own kitchen/dining and lounge areas, facing a landscaped garden and barbeque facility.

The Deakin Common Room provides residents with a music room, pool table, TV and telephones.

Back to Geelong information

  Deakin College Images

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

15th March 2011