Trimester dates 2010

This page displays all important dates to do with your 2010 enrolment, including teaching periods, holidays, census dates, withdrawal dates, exam periods and graduation deadlines for application to graduate.

January

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in January 2010 by date and event.
Date Event
Monday 4 January 2010 University opens for 2010
Sunday 10 January 2010 Last day to withdraw from Trimester 3 with a Withdrawn Late (WL) grade listed on academic record
Monday 11 January 2010 Last day for Semester 2 cross-institutional students to provide their results to Deakin
Thursday 14 January 2010 Last day for processing Trimester 3 requests to change Examination Centre without penalty fee
Monday 25 January 2010 Enrolment Day for new undergraduate on-campus students
Tuesday 26 January 2010 Australia Day (University closed)
Wed 27 to Fri 29 January 2010 Enrolment Days for new undergraduate on-campus students continued
Thursday 28 January 2010 Last day for processing Trimester 3 requests to change Examination Centre with penalty fee
Friday 29 January 2010 Closing date for application to graduate in April conferral ceremonies

February

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in February 2010 by date and event. 
Date Event
Monday 1 February 2010
  • Semester 1 (School of Medicine) teaching period commences
  • Trimester 1 and Semester 1 online invoices available on StudentConnect
Friday 5 February 2010
  • Trimester 3 teaching period ends
  • Last day to withdraw from Trimester 3 on-campus units with a 'Withdrawn Fail'(WN) grade listed on academic record
Sunday 7 February 2010 Last day for new International fee paying students to withdraw from Trimester 1 units and receive a 90% refund
Monday 8 February 2010 Last day for Deakin students to apply to their Faculty to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 1
Thursday 11 February 2010
  • Enrolment day for second-round offers for new undergraduate on-campus students
  • Start of examination period for Trimester 3 and Supplementary and Special examinations from Tri 2, 2009
Friday 19 February 2010 End of Trimester 3 examination period
Tuesday 23 to Friday 26 February 2010 Orientation and enrolment days for new international students (undergraduate and postgraduate)
Sunday 28 February 2010 Last day for adding Trimester 1 off-campus units to enrolment

March

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in March 2010 by date and event. 
Date Event
Monday 1 to Friday 5 March 2010 Orientation for new students, more details provided at enrolment
Friday 5 March 2010 Results released for Trimester 3 units via StudentConnect and SMS to a nominated mobile phone
Monday 8 March 2010
  • Trimester 1 teaching period begins
  • Labour Day - University remains open
Friday 12 March 2010 Trimester 1 and Semester 1 invoice fee due
Sunday 21 March 2010
  • Last day for continuing international fee paying students to withdraw from Trimester 1 units and receive a 100% refund
  • Last day to add Trimester 1 on-campus units to enrolment, subject to availability of places
Wednesday 31 March 2010
  • Trimester 1 census date
  • Semester 1 (School of Medicine) Census date
  • Last day for all international fee paying students to withdraw from Trimester 1 and receive a 50% refund
  • Last day to withdraw from Trimester 1 units or to intermit or discontinue course without HECS -HELP/FEE-HELP liability and without reference on academic record
  • Last day for HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students to make full or partial up-front payments for Trimester 1
  • Last day for domestic tuition fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up-front for Trimester 1
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit eCAF (electronic Commonwealth Assistance Form) and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • Last day for international students to pay 1st instalment of at least 50% of their Trimester 1 course tuition fees

April

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in April 2010 by date and event. 
Date Event
Friday 2 to Sunday 11 April 2010 Easter vacation/intra-trimester break
Monday 5 April 2010 Last day for Trimester 3 cross-institutional students to provide their results to Deakin
Monday 26 April 2010 ANZAC day public holiday (in lieu of) University closed
Wednesday 28 April 2010 Commonwealth Assistance Notices (CANs) for Trimester 1 and Semester 1 become available for HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students on StudentConnect
Friday 30 April 2010 Last day for international students to pay balance of their Trimester 1 course tuition fees

May

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in May 2010 by date and event. 
Date Event
Tuesday 4 May 2010 Trimester 1 2010 Examination Timetable, and Trimester 3 2009 Supplementary and Special Examination Timetable released on StudentConnect
Sunday 9 May 2010 Last day to withdraw from, Trimester 1 units with 'Withdrawn Late' (WL) grade listed on academic record
Thursday 13 May 2010 Last day for processing Trimester 1 requests to change Examination Centre without penalty fee
Tuesday 18 May 2010 Residential unit (Resi-1 teaching period) census date
Thursday 27 May 2010 Last day for processing Trimester 1 requests to change Examination Centre with penalty fee

June

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in June 2010 by date and event.
Date Event
Friday 4 June 2010
  • Trimester 1 lectures end
  • Last day to withdraw from Trimester 1 units with 'Withdrawn Fail' (WN) grade listed on academic record
Thursday 10 June 2010 Start of examination period for Trimester 1, 2010 and Supplementary and Special examinations for Trimester 3, 2009
Friday 11 June 2010
  • Semester 1 (School of Medicine) teaching period ends
  • Last day for Deakin students to apply to Faculty to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 2
Sunday 13 June 2010 Last day for new international fee paying students to withdraw from Trimester 2 units and receive a 90% refund
Monday 14 June 2010
  • Queen's Birthday (University remains open)
  • Trimester 2 and Semester 2 online invoices available on StudentConnect
Friday 18 June 2010
  • End of Trimester 1, 2010 examination period
  • Last day for Trimester 1 cross-institutional students to provide their results to Deakin
Mon 21 to Sun 11 July June 2010 Inter-trimester break
Wednesday 30 June 2010 Closing date for mid-year scholarships for domestic higher degree by research candidates

July

 Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in July 2010 by date and event. 
date Event
Sunday 4 July 2010 Last day for adding Trimester 2 off-campus units to enrolment
Monday 5 July 2010 Semester 2 (School of Medicine) teaching period commences
Tues 6 to Fri 9 July 2010 Orientation and Enrolment days for new international students (undergraduate and postgraduate)
Thursday 8 July 2010 Results released tor Trimester 1 units via StudentConnect and SMS to a nominated mobile phone
Monday 12 July 2010 Trimester 2 teaching period begins
Wednesday 14 July 2010 Trimester 1 Supplementary and Special examination timetable released on StudentConnect
Sunday 25 July 2010
  • Last day for continuing international fee paying students to withdraw from trimester 2 units and receive a 100% refund
  • Last day for adding Trimester 2 on-campus units to enrolment, subject to availability
Tuesday 27 July 2010 Trimester 2 invoice fee due
Saturday 31 July 2010 Closing date for applications to graduate in the October conferral ceremonies

August

  Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in August 2010 by date and event.
DateEvent
Monday 2 August 2010 Start of Supplementary and Special Examination period for Trimester 1
Friday 6 August 2010 End of Supplementary and Special Examination period for Trimester 1
Thursday 12 August 2010 Semester 2 invoice fee due
Sunday 15 August 2010
  • Trimester 2 census date
  • Last day for all international fee-paying students to withdraw from trimester 2 and receive a 50% refund
  • Last day to withdraw from trimester 2 units without HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP liability and without reference on academic record
  • Last day for HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students to make full or partial up-front payments for trimester 2
  • Last day for tuition fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees upfront for trimester 2
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit eCAF (electronic Commonwealth Assistance Form) and/or provide their tax file numbers
Tuesday 31 August 2010
  • Semester 2 (School of Medicine) census date
  • Residential unit (Resi-2 teaching period) census date
  • Last day for all School of Medicine international fee paying students to withdraw from semester 2 and receive a 50% refund
  • Last day to withdraw from semester 2 School of Medicine units without
  • HECS -HELP liability and without reference on academic record
  • Last day for School of Medicine HECS -HELP students to make full or partial up-front payments for semester 2
  • Last day for School of Medicine Commonwealth supported students to submit eCAF (electronic Commonwealth Assistance Form) and/or provide their tax file numbers (TFN)
  • Last day for School of Medicine international students to pay 1st instalment of at least 50% of their semester 2 tuition fees

September

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in September 2010 by date and event.
Date Event
Wednesday 1 September 2010 Re-enrolment information to become available for students from this date, including the opening date of online re-enrolment and online trimester 3 enrolment
Friday 3 September 2010 Trimester 2 Examination Timetable released on StudentConnect
Sunday 12 September 2010
  • Last day to withdraw from Trimester 2 units with 'Withdrawn Late' (WL) grade listed on academic record
  • Commonwealth Assistance Notices (CANs) become available for Trimester 2 HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students on StudentConnect
Monday 13 September 2010 2011 re-enrolment opens for Faculty of Science and Technology and Faculty of Arts and Education, closes 26 September
Wednesday 15 September 2010 Last day for international students to pay balance of their Trimester 2 course tuition fees
Thursday 16 September 2010 Last day for processing requests to change trimester 2 Examination Centre without penalty fee
Mon 20 to Sun 26 September 2010 Intra-trimester break
Monday 27 September 2010 2011 re-enrolment opens for Faculty of Business and Law, Faculty of Health, Medicine, Nursing and Behavioural Sciences and School of Medicine, closes 10 October
Tuesday 28 September 2010 Commonwealth Assistance Notices (CANs) become available for Semester 2 (School of Medicine) HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students on StudentConnect
Thursday 30 September 2010 Last day for processing requests to change trimester 2 Examination centre with penalty fee

October

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in October 2010 by date and event. 
Date Event
Friday 8 October 2010
  • Trimester 2 lectures end
  • Last day to withdraw from Trimester 2 units with 'Withdrawn Fail' (WN) grade listed on academic record
Thursday 14 October 2010 Start of examination period for Trimester 2
Sunday 17 October 2010 Last day for Deakin students to apply to Faculty to undertake cross-institutional studies in Trimester 3
Friday 22 October 2010
  • End of examination period for Trimester 2
  • Trimester 3 online invoices available on StudentConnect
Mon 25 October to Sun 14 November Inter trimester break
Sunday 31 October 2010 Closing date for application to graduate in December ceremonies (international students only)

November

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in November 2010 by date and event.
Date Event
Tuesday 2 November 2010 Melbourne Cup Day (University remains open)
Sunday 7 November 2010 Last day for adding Trimester 3 off-campus units to enrolment
Thursday 11 November 2010 Results for Trimester 2 units released on StudentConnect and via SMS to a nominated mobile phone
Friday 12 November 2010 Semester 2 (School of Medicine) teaching period ends
Monday 15 November 2010 Trimester 3 teaching period begins
Saturday 27 November 2010 Trimester 3 invoice fee due
Sunday 28 November 2010
  • Last day for adding trimester 3 on-campus units to enrolment, subject to availability
  • Last day for continuing international fee paying students to withdraw from trimester 3 units and receive a 100% refund
Tuesday 30 November 2010
  • Applications closing date for course transfers for Trimester 1, 2011
  • Last day for non-Deakin students to apply for Commonwealth supported cross-institutional study for Trimesters 1 and 2, 2011

December

Enrolment and fee dates for trimester study periods in December 2010 by date and event.
Date Event
Wednesday 1 December 2010 Applications open for the April/May graduation conferral ceremonies
Wednesday 15 December 2010
  • Trimester 3 Census Date 
  • Last day for all international fee paying students to withdraw from trimester 3 and receive a 50% refund
  • Last day to withdraw from trimester 3 units without HECS -HELP and FEE-HELP students to make full or partial up-front payments for trimester 3
  • Last day for tuition fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees upfront for trimester 3
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit eCAF (electronic Commonwealth Assistance Form) and/or provide their tax file numbers (TFN)
    Last day for international students to pay 1st instalment of at least 50% of their trimester 3 tuition fees
  • Trimester 3 Examination Timetable, and Trimester 2 Supplementary and Special Examination Timetable released on StudentConnect
Thursday 23 December 2010 to Monday 3 January 2011 Intra-trimester break
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration
Last updated: