2017 Medicine Surgery dates

This page displays all important dates to do with your enrolment in the Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery in 2017, including teaching periods, holidays, census dates, withdrawal dates, exam periods and deadlines to apply to graduate.

University opening dates

University holidays and dates for 2017 by event and date
Event Date

University opens for 2017

Wednesday 4 January

Australia Day - University closed

Thursday 26 January

Labour Day - University remains open

Monday 13 March

Good Friday - University closed

Friday 14 April

Easter Monday - University closed

Monday 17 April

Easter Tuesday - University closed

Tuesday 18 April

ANZAC Day - University closed

Tuesday 25 April

Queen's Birthday - University remains open

Monday 12 June

Friday before the AFL Grand Final- University closed Friday 29 September

Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open

Tuesday 7 November

University holiday - University closed

Monday 25 December to Wednesday 3 January 2018

University opens for 2018

Thursday 4 January 2018

Enrolment and fee dates for Medicine/Surgery

2017 Semester enrolment and fee deadlines
Event Semester 1 Semester 2

International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Semester and receive a 90% refund

Sunday 1 January

Sunday 4 June

Invoices available on StudentConnect

Monday 30 January

Monday 5 June

International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Semester and receive a 100% refund

Sunday 12 February  

Sunday 16 July

Fees due

Sunday 12 March

Thursday 12 August

Census date

Friday 31 March

Thursday 31 August

Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Semester released on StudentConnect

Thursday 27 April

Wednesday 27 September

International students - final instalment of Semester fees due

Sunday 30 April

Saturday 30 September

Last day to withdraw from Semester units with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

Friday 12 May

Friday 13 October

Withdrawn Fail (WN) applies for all units withdrawn from this date

Saturday 13 May

Saturday 14 October

Year 1 and 2 Medicine/Surgery dates

2017 Year 1 and 2 medical student dates by event, date and semester
EventSemester 1Semester 2

Teaching period begins

Monday 30 January

Monday 3 July

Mid-Semester break

Friday 14 April - Friday 21 April

Monday 11 September - Friday 15 September

Exam timetable released

Monday 8 May

Monday 9 October

Teaching period ends

Friday 9 June

Friday 10 November

SWOTVAC begins

Monday 12 June

Monday 13 November

Examination period begins

Monday 19 June

Monday 20 November

Examination period ends

Friday 23 June

Friday 24 November

Non-teaching period Not applicable Monday 27 November - Friday 8 December

Vacation

Monday 26 June - Friday 30 June

Monday 18 December - to be confirmed

Results released

Thursday 6 July

Thursday 7 December

Further assessment timetable released

School will notify relevant students

School will notify relevant students

Further assessment period

Monday 10 July - Friday 14 July

Monday 11 December - Friday 15 December

Year 3 Medicine/Surgery dates

2017 Year 3 medical student dates by event and date
Event Date

Rotation 1

Monday 23 January - Friday 10 March

Rotation 2 (no Easter break)

Monday 13 March - Friday 28 April

Rotation 3

Monday 1 May - Thursday 15 June

Exam timetable released

Monday 8 May

Exams

Friday 16 June

Vacation

Monday 19 June - Friday 30 June

Results Released

Thursday 6 July

Rotation 4

Monday 3 July - Friday 18 August

Rotation 5

Monday 21 August - Friday 6 October

Exam timetable released

Monday 9 October

Rotation 6

Monday 9 October - Friday 24 November

Exam period begins

Monday 27 November

Exam period ends

Friday 1 December

Results Released

Thursday 7 December

Further assessment timetable released

School will notify relevant students

Further assessment period

Monday 11 December - Friday 15 December

Vacation Monday 18 December - to be confirmed

Year 4 Medicine/Surgery dates

2017 Year 4 medical student dates by event and date
Event Date

Rotation 1

Monday 23 January - Friday 24 February

Rotation 2

Monday 27 February - Friday 31 March

Rotation 3

Monday 3 April - Friday 12 May

Easter break

Friday 14 April - Friday 21 April

Exam timetable released

Monday 8 May

Rotation 4

Monday 15 May - Thursday 15 June

Exam period begins

Friday 16 June

Exam period ends

Friday 23 June

Vacation 1

Monday 26 June - Friday 30 June

Results released

Thursday 6 July

Further assessment timetable released

School will notify relevant students

Further assessment period

Monday 3 July - Friday 7 July

Vacation 2 Monday 10 July - Friday 14 July

Selective / Elective 1

Monday 17 July - Friday 25 August

Selective / Elective 2

Monday 28 August - Friday 6 October

Graduation applications open for students completing their degree at the end of Semester for December ceremonies Monday 2 October 

Selective / Elective 3

Monday 9 October - Friday 17 November

Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree at end of Semester for December ceremonies

Friday 27 October

Results released

Thursday 30 November

Graduation ceremony at Geelong Waterfront campus for students who completed their degree at the end of Semester Thursday 14 December

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Semester and receive a 50% refund.

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Semester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current Semester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Semester
  • Last day to withdraw from current Semester without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current Semester units without reference on academic record.

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Page custodian: Division of Student Administration
Last updated: