General information and terms

This area has information about commonly used Deakin terms which may assist you with planning your study and enrolment.

Study options

Dependent on your degree, you may be required to complete 8 to 12, 24 to 32, or 44 credit points.

Full-time students usually study units worth 4 credit points per trimester over 3 to 5 years, utilising Trimester 1 and 2 each year. Study is compulsory in Trimester 1 and 2 for full-time students.

Part-time students can study 1 or 2 units per trimester.

For more information, visit full-time or part-time study

Core and Elective Units

Your course is made up of either core units or a combination of core and elective units. Core units are compulsory. Elective units are your own choice.

Elective units for undergraduate courses can be chosen from any school or faculty within the university, provided you meet pre-requisite rules and it fits in with your timetable.

Engineering students: When selecting elective units, these must be pre-approved and within the faculty. For further guidance, please speak to a course adviser.

Trimester Options

Most courses utilise Trimester 1 and 2, however our flexible study options allow you to fast track your studies by using Trimester 3 (if applicable). 

Credit Points

Most units studied are worth 1 credit point, but units may have a value of between 0 - 4 credit points. The units you pass successfully, will give you the credit point value required to pass your degree.

Pre-requisite and co-requisite units

A pre-requisite unit is a unit that must be completed prior to a particular unit.

A co-requisite unit is a unit that must be completed during or before the trimester of the specific unit being studied. Please check your course rules for further details.

Unit codes

Each subject you study is called a 'unit'. Each unit has a title and code made up of 3 letter and 3 numbers. (eg. SIT101)
S - Represents the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment
IT - Represents the School of Information Technology
1 - Represents the unit level (ie. First year unit)
01 - Represents the unit number

Undergraduate students will study unit levels 1-4 and postgraduate students will take units at level 7 or 9

If you choose to study an elective from another faculty, please note the starting letter unit codes:
A - Faculty of Arts and Education
E - Faculty of Arts and Education
H - Faculty of Health
M - Faculty of Business and Law

Credit Transfer and Recognition

Deakin recognises the importance of your previous studies and work experience. You may apply to receive credit towards your Deakin degree. This can increase your educational choices and reduce the number of units required to complete your study. For more information visit Credit Transfer and Recognition

Campus and class codes

When enrolling into an unit, you will select the the most appropriate enrolment mode and location::

  • Burwood (Melbourne)
  • Waterfront (Geelong
  • Waurn Ponds (Geelong)
  • Warrnambool
  • Cloud
Page custodian: Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment
Last updated: