Contact a chaplain

Deakin's Multifaith Chaplains deliver an important link for staff and students between the wisdom and guidance offered by all religions and the diversity of beliefs. It is not necessary to belong to any religious faith in order to use the chaplaincy services. Services on-campus and online include:

  • opportunities to discuss and explore religion and faith
  • prayer, reflection and worship opportunities
  • suggested connections to others who you can pray with
  • support during times of personal crisis
  • information about religious events on and off-campus
  • promotion of multifaith harmony and acceptance.

All Deakin University Chaplains are fully accredited by the Council for Chaplains in Tertiary Institutions in Victoria and are members of the Tertiary Campus Ministry Association (Australia).


Melbourne Burwood Campus

Where to find a Chaplain

Building B Room 2.25a
Building EC. Elgar Road Room 2.17

Mrs Helen Edmonds - Catholic Chaplain

Contact details

Chaplaincy Coordinator 
Phone: 03 9244 5577
Mobile: 0413 134 715
Email: helen.edmonds@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Tuesday
Wednesday
Other times by appointment

Michelle Walker

Contact details

Mobile: 0402 637 074
Email: michelle.walker@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Contact for availability details

Rabbi Moishe Weiss

Contact details

Jewish Chaplain
Mobile: 0425 770 960
Email: moishe.weiss@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Contact for availability details

Imam Riad Galil

Contact details

Mobile: 0401 995 879
Email: riad.galil@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Contact for availability details

Rev John Carrick

Contact details

Mobile: 0412 438 021
Email: john.carrick@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Wednesday
Contact for an appointment


Geelong Campuses

Where to find a Chaplain

Room D 2.142 - Waterfront Campus
Room jb 2.109 - Waurn Ponds Campus

Len Monk

Contact details

Mobile: 0402 082 937
Email: len.monk@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Tuesday
Wednesday
Contact for an appointment.


Warrnambool Campus

Where to find a Chaplain

Student Life Reception

Don Stewart

Contact details

Phone: 03 5563 3256
Mobile: 0437202080
Email: donald.stewart@deakin.edu.au

Availability (by landline/mobile on the following days)

Thursday or by appointment

Page custodian: Division of Student Life
Last updated: