HDR contacts

Graduate Research Academy

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
GRA staff
Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Development and Integrity Prof Aaron Russell
pvc-rdi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17397 B
Executive Assistant, Research Integrity & Human Ethics Ms Stacey Loukas
stacey.loukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68268 B
Executive Officer, HDR Mr Grant Michie
grant.michie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17196 B
Program Enhancement Manager Mrs Amanda Mayor
amanda.mayor@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71499 G
Project Officer Ms Fadzai Sanjeev
f.sanjeev@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78124 G

Higher Degrees by Research
Candidature Manager, Higher Degrees Ms Rheanne Hogema
rheanne.hogema@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72564 G
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual Review (On leave until Sep 2019) Ms Kate Percival
kate.percival@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71090 B
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and Annual ReviewMs Jo Ryan
jo.ryan@deakin.edu.au
research-examinations@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 73033

G
Senior HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Melissa Bao
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68296 B
HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Vicky Koo
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68464 B
HDR Adviser- International Admissions and Enrolments Ms Tracey Flores
deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46519 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments Ms Aderyn Simon
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68671B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments (Mon, Tue, Thurs) Ms Indri James
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78289 G
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Ms Sabina Khatri
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68820 B
HDR Adviser - Scholarships Dr Prue Plummer
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72146 B

International Research Training
Deputy Dean/Director of International Research Training A/Prof Luis Afonso
luis.afonso@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33461 G
International Research Support Coordinator Ms Eva Filipiak
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78977 G
International Research Support Officer Ms Kate Hecimovic
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73145 G

Deakin Research Training
Research Training Officer Ms Brona O'Brien
research-training@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17339 B

Faculty of Arts & Education

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Faculty HDR Coordinator A/Prof Andrea Gallant
andrea.gallant@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46430 B
Senior HDR Advisor Mrs Robyn Ficnerski
robyn.ficnerski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72226 G
Research Administration Officer Ms Lisa Morwood
lisa.morwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71254 G
HDR Administration Assistant Mrs Margaret McKay
margaret.mckay@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46825 B

School of Education
Head of School Prof Christine Ure
c.ure@deakin.edu.au
N/A B
Assoc Head of School (Research) Dr Louise Paatsch
louise.paatsch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71457 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Amanda Mooney
amanda.mooney@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73285 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Andrew Skourdoumbis
andrew.skourdoumbis@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46673 B

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Head of School Prof Matthew Clarke
matthew.clarke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43979 B
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870 B
Associate Head Of School (Research) AsPr Andrew Singleton
andrew.singleton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43980 B
HDR Coordinator Dr George Duke
george.duke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17848 B

School of Communication & Creative Arts
Associate Head Of School (Research) Dr Emily Potter
e.potter@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46842 B
Head of School Prof Matthew Allen
hos-cca@deakin.edu.au
N/A B
HDR Coordinator Dr Patrick West
patrick.west@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43953 B

Faculty of Business & Law

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) A/Prof Joshua Newton 
j.newton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17830 B
Faculty HDR Director TBA 
Manager, Research Services Ms Bronwyn Kelly
bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72442
+61 3 522 71035
F
Coordinator, Research Services Mrs Elizabeth Fitzgerald
elizabeth.fitzgerald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46295 B
Senior Administrative Officer Ms Katrina Fleming
blethics@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73362 F
Research Administrative Officer Mrs Gloria Stevenson
gloria.stevenson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72566
+61 3 522 72151
G
Research Administrative Officer Julie Asquith
julie.asquith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46628 B
Research Administrative Officer Ms Lee-Ann Stones
lee-ann.stones@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72390 F
Research Administrative Officer Ms Vilia Dukas
vilia.dukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46564 B
General Inquiries buslaw research
bl-phd@deakin.edu.au
N/A B & F

Deakin Business School
Department of Accounting
Head of Department Prof Peter Carey
p.carey@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46267 B
Director of Research Prof George Tanewski
g.tanewski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17230 B
Director of HDR Dr Arifur Khan
arifur.khan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46857 B

Department of Economics
Head of Department Prof Pasquale Sgro
pasquale.sgro@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45245 B
Director of Research A/Prof Debdulal Mallick
debdulal.mallick@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17808 B
Director of HDR Dr Aaron Nicholas
aaron.nicholas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45120 B

Department of Finance
Head of Department Prof Chien-Ting Lin
chienting.lin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46782 B
Director of Research Dr Edward Podolski
edward.podolski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68358 B
Director of HDRDr Saikat Sovan Deb
saikat.deb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17745B

Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
Head of Department Prof Rens Scheepers
rens.scheepers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46568 B
Director of Research and HDR Dr Lemai Nguyen
lemai.nguyen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46556 B

Department of Management
Head of Department Prof Amanda Pyman
amanda.pyman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46170 B
DBA Director Prof Stuart Orr
s.orr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45535 B
Director of Research Prof Andrew Noblet
andrew.noblet@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45076 B
Director of HDRDr Ambika Zutshi
ambika.zutshi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46678B

Department of Marketing
Interim Head of Department, Marketing Prof Michael Polonsky
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46968 B
Director of Research A/Prof Andrea Vocino
andrea.vocino@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17408 B
Director of HDR Dr Nichola Robertson
nichola.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45069 B

Deakin Law School
Dean of Law, Head of the Deakin Law School Dr Jenni Lightowlers
j.lightowlers@deakin.edu.au
N/A B
Director of Research Dr Nicole Siller
n.siller@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68281 B
Director of HDR Dr Shiri Krebs
s.krebs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68921 B

Faculty of Health

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Trish Livingston
trish.livingston@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46609 B
Faculty of Health HDR Coordinator A/Prof Tess Knight
tess.knight@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46595 B
Faculty Research Administrator Mr Steven Sawyer
steven.sawyer@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17175 B

School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Head of School Prof David Crawford
david.crawford@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46616 B
Associate Head of School (Research) A/Prof Glenn Wadley
glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46018 B
HDR Coordinator Prof Anna Timperio
anna.timperio@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17244 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator A/Prof Kylie Hesketh
kylie.hesketh@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46812 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator A/Prof Daniel Belavy
d.belavy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46606 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator Dr Severine Lamon
severine.lamon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45571 B

School of Health and Social Development
Head of School Prof Catherine Bennett
catherine.bennett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46149 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Dr Cathy Mihalopoulos
cathy.mihalopoulos@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17383 F
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Samantha Thomas
samantha.thomas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45453 B
HDR Coordinator Dr Claire Henderson-Wilson
claire.henderson-wilson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17268 B

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Interim Head of School Prof Nikki Phillips
nikki.phillips@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 925 17774

B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Tracey Bucknall
tracey.bucknall@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46529 B
HDR Coordinator A/Prof Pat Nicholson
p.nicholson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46114 B
Deputy HDR CoordinatorDr Stephane Bouchoucha
s.bouchoucha@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17429B

School of Medicine
Head of School Prof Jon Watson
j.watson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71275 G
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Alister Ward
alister.ward@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72041 G
HDR Coordinator

Dr Kathryn Aston-Mourney
k.astonmourney@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 522 72977 G
HDR Coordinator Dr Kevin Mc Namara
kevin.mcnamara@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79472 Geelong (Barwon Health)
Administrative Officer (Research and Research Training) Mrs Debbie Evans
d.evans@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72995 G

School of Psychology
Head of School Prof Jane McGillivray
jane.mcgillivray@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46426 B
Associate Head of School (Research) Prof Peter Enticott
peter.enticott@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45504 B
HDR Coordinator (DPsych) A/Prof Nicki Dowling
nicki.dowling@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45610 B
HDR Coordinator

A/Prof Antonina Mikocka-Walus
antonina.mikockawalus@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 924 68575 B
Deputy HDR Coordinator Dr Emily Kothe
emily.kothe@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45599 B
Professional Programs Officer (DPsych Programs) Ms Claire Netherway
psych-prof-programs@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46345 B

Research and HDR Officer

Mrs Katharine Woods
Katharine.woods@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 924 46901B

Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research)Prof David Cahill
david.cahill@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71299G
Faculty HDR CoordinatorDr Gang Li
gang.li@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434B
Manager, Research and InnovationDr Anne Drake
anne.drake@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72826G
Administrative Officer ResearchMs Barb Robertson
barb.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72080G
HDR AdministratorMs Sandra Dunoon
sandra.dunoon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72270
+61 3 522 72167
G

School of Architecture and Built  Environment
Head of SchoolProf Anthony Mills
anthony.mills@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78311F
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Richard Tucker
richard.tucker@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78308F
HDR CoordinatorDr Astrid Roetzel
astrid.roetzel@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78752F
HDR CoordinatorDr Akari Nakai Kidd
akari.nakaikidd@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79433F

School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Head of SchoolProf Chris Austin
c.austin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68383B
Deputy Head of SchoolProf John Donald
john.donald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72097G
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Giovanni Turchini
giovanni.turchini@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33312B
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)Dr Sharon La Fontaine
sharon.lafontaine@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17669B
HDR Coordinator (Warrnambool)Dr Adam Miller
a.miller@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 556 33171W
HDR Coordinator (Geelong)Dr Tim Jessop
t.jessop@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73275G

School of Engineering
Interim Head of SchoolProf Aman Maung Than Oo
aman.m@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79216G
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Bernard Rolfe
bernard.rolfe@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72417G
HDR Director (Research Culture and Quality)Dr Riyadh Al-Ameri
r.alameri@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72397G
HDR Director (Administration and Governance)Dr Enamul Haque
enamul.haque@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71206G
HDR AdministratorSarah Carter
sarah.carter@deakin.edu.au  
+61 3 52273439G

School of Information Technology
Head of SchoolProf John Yearwood
john.yearwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68727B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Yong Xiang
yong.xiang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17740B
HDR CoordinatorDr Atul Sajjanhar
atul.sajjanhar@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17441B
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds)Dr Shang Gao
shang.gao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71383G

GTP Research

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
DirectorProf Xungai Wang
xungai.wang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72894G

Institute for Frontier Materials
DirectorProf Matthew Barnett
matthew.barnett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72797G
HDR CoordinatorDr Luke O'Dell
luke.odell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73076G
HDR CoordinatorDr Christopher Hurren
christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72374G
HDR Support CoordinatorMrs Helen Woodall
helen.woodall@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72930G
HDR Administrative SupportMs Tamara Forbes
tamara.forbes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78804G

Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation
Director, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and InnovationProf Saeid Nahavandi
saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71231G
Associate Professor (Research)Prof Douglas Creighton
douglas.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72179G
HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Asim Bhatti
asim.bhatti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72548G
Associate Professor in Complex SystemsA/Prof Chee Peng Lim
chee.lim@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73307
+61 3 5227 1046
G

Institute of Koorie Education

Position Contact Telephone Campus
Director Prof Liz Cameron
l.cameron@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79358 G
HDR CoordinatorProf Tarquam McKenna
t.mckenna@deakin.edu.au

+61 3 52278694

G
Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: