HDR contacts

Graduate Research Academy

Position Contact Telephone Campus
GRA staff
Dean/Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Training and Performance Enhancement Professor Joe Graffam
pvc-rdt@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72673 G
Executive Assistant, Office of DVC (Research) Ms Sue Brown
sue.brown@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72673 G
Executive Officer, HDR Mr Grant Michie
grant.michie@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17196 B
Program Enhancement Manager Mrs Amanda Mayor
amanda.mayor@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71499 G

Higher Degrees by Research
Candidature Manager, Higher Degrees Ms Belinda Lee
belinda.lee@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73492 G
Senior HDR Adviser - Examinations and annual review Miss Kate Percival
kate.percival@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71090 B
HDR Adviser - Admissions and enrolments Mrs Meeta Dissanayake
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45613 B
HDR Adviser- Admissions and enrolments Ms Irene Brown
research-hdr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68338 B
HDR Adviser – Scholarships Dr Prue Plummer
research-scholarships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72146 B

International Research Training
Deputy Dean/Director of International Research Training A/Prof Luis Afonso
luis.afonso@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33461 G
International Research Support Coordinator Ms Rheanne Hogema
international-partnerships@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72564 G

Deakin Research Training
Research Training Officer Ms Brona O'Brien
research-training@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17339 B

Deakin International

Position Contact Telephone Campus
International Admissions Manager Mr Vikram Walia
v.walia@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45240 B
International Admissions Coordinator Ms Hoong Khoo
hoong.khoo@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45079 B
International Admissions Officer Mr Christoph Buys
christoph.buys@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45489 B
International Inquiries deakin-int-hdr@deakin.edu.au

Faculty of Arts & Education

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research)Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870B
Faculty HDR CoordinatorDr Andrea Gallant
andrea.gallant@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46430B
Senior HDR AdvisorMrs Robyn Ficnerski
robyn.ficnerski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72226G
HDR Administration AssistantMrs Margaret McKay
margaret.mckay@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46825B

School of Education
Head of SchoolProf Christine Ure
c.ure@deakin.edu.au
N/AB
Assoc Head of School (Research)Dr Louise Paatsch
louise.paatsch@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71457G
HDR CoordinatorDr Amanda Mooney
amanda.mooney@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73285G
HDR CoordinatorDr Glenn Auld
glenn.auld@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17098B

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Head of SchoolProf Matthew Clarke
matthew.clarke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43979B
Associate Dean (Research)Prof Jack Reynolds
jack.reynolds@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43870B
Associate Head Of School (Research)AsPr Andrew Singleton
andrew.singleton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43980B
HDR CoordinatorDr George Duke
george.duke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17848B

School of Communication & Creative Arts
Head of SchoolProf Matthew Allen
hos-cca@deakin.edu.au
N/AB
HDR CoordinatorDr Patrick West
patrick.west@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43953B

Faculty of Business & Law

Position Contact Telephone Campus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research) Prof Ingrid Nielsen
ingrid.nielsen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68315 B
Faculty HDR Director Dr Josh Newton 
j.newton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17830 B
Manager, Research Services Ms Bronwyn Kelly
bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72442
+61 3 522 71035
F
Coordinator, Research Services Mrs Elizabeth Fitzgerald
elizabeth.fitzgerald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46295 B
Senior Administrative Officer Ms Katrina Fleming
blethics@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73362 F
Research Administrative Officer Mrs Gloria Stevenson
gloria.stevenson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72566
+61 3 522 72151
G
Research Administrative Officer Julie Asquith
julie.asquith@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46628 B
Research Administrative Officer Ms Lee-Ann Stones
lee-ann.stones@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72390 F
Research Administrative Officer Ms Vilia Dukas
vilia.dukas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46564 B
General Inquiries buslaw research
blresearch@deakin.edu.au
N/A B & F

Department of Accounting
Head of Department Prof Peter Carey
p.carey@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46267 B
Director of Research Prof George Tanewski
g.tanewski@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17230 B
Director of HDR Dr Arifur Khan
arifur.khan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46857 B

School of Law
Dean of Law, Head of the Deakin Law School Prof Sandeep Gopalan
sandeep.gopalan@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17707 B
Director of Research Dr Neera Bhatia
neera.bhatia@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46594 B
Director of HDR Dr Jason Taliadoros
jason.taliadoros@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68182 B
Deputy Director of HDR Ms Lang Thai
lang.thai@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46060 B

Department of Economics
Head of Department Prof Pasquale Sgro
pasquale.sgro@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45245 B
Director of Research A/Prof Debdulal Mallick
debdulal.mallick@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17808 B
Director of HDR A/Prof Jaideep Roy
j.roy@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46921 B

Department of Management
Head of Department Prof Amanda Pyman
amanda.pyman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46170 B
Director of HDR Dr Ambika Zutshi
ambika.zutshi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46678 B
DBA Director Prof Stuart Orr
s.orr@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45535 B
Director of Research Prof Ken Parry
ken.parry@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45530 B

Dept. of Information Systems & Business Analytics
Head of Department Prof Rens Scheepers
rens.scheepers@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46568 B
Director of Research and HDR Dr Lemai Nguyen
lemai.nguyen@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46556 B

Department of Finance
Head of Department Prof Chien-Ting Lin
chienting.lin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46782 B
Director of Research and HDR Dr Saikat Sovan Deb
saikat.deb@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17745 B

Department of Marketing
Interim Head of Department, Marketing Prof Michael Polonsky
michael.polonsky@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46968 B
Director of Research A/Prof Andrea Vocino
andrea.vocino@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17408 B
Director of HDR Dr Nichola Robertson
nichola.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45069 B
Acting Director of HDR (6 Feb- 4 July 2017) Professor Chris Dubelaar
c.dubelaar@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 43786 B

Faculty of Health

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research)Prof Trish Livingston
trish.livingston@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46609B
Faculty Research AdministratorMr Steven Sawyer
steven.sawyer@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17175
+61 3 924 46019
B
Faculty of Health HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Tess Knight
tess.knight@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46595B
School of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
Head of SchoolProf David Crawford
david.crawford@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46616B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Kylie Ball
kylie.ball@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17310B
HDR CoordinatorDr Glenn Wadley
glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46018B
Deputy HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Kylie Hesketh
kylie.hesketh@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46812B

School of Health and Social Development
Head of SchoolProf Catherine Bennett
catherine.bennett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46149B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Karen Stagnitti
karen.stagnitti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78363F
HDR CoordinatorA/Prof Samantha Thomas
samantha.thomas@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45453B
HDR CoordinatorDr Claire Henderson-Wilson
claire.henderson-wilson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17268B
Research ManagerMrs Petra Van Nieuwenhoven
petra.v@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 924 46423B

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Head of SchoolProf Maxine Duke
maxine.duke@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46513
+61 3 924 46159
B
HDR CoordinatorProf Elizabeth Manias
e.manias@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46958B

School of Medicine
Head of SchoolProf Jon Watson
j.watson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71275G
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Alister Ward
alister.ward@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72041G
HDR CoordinatorProf Ken Walder
ken.walder@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72883G
HDR CoordinatorProf Julie Pasco
julie.pasco@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 4215 3331Geelong (Barwon Health)
Administrative Officer (Research and Research Training)Mrs Debbie Evans
d.evans@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72995G

School of Psychology
Head of SchoolProf Gregory Tooley
gregory.tooley@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17365B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Helen Skouteris
helen.skouteris@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17699B
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)Prof Lina Ricciardelli
lina.ricciardelli@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 46866B
HDR Coordinator (DPsych)A/Prof Nicki Dowling
nicki.dowling@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 45610B
Professional Programs Officer (DPsych Programs)Ms Siew Joo Beh
psych-enquiries@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68475B

Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
Faculty Staff
Associate Dean (Research)Prof David Cahill
david.cahill@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71299G
Faculty HDR CoordinatorDr Gang Li
gang.li@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17434B
Manager, Research and InnovationDr Anne Drake
anne.drake@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72826G
Administrative Officer ResearchMs Barb Robertson
barb.robertson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72080G
HDR AdministratorMs Sandra Dunoon
sandra.dunoon@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72270
+61 3 522 72167
G

School of Architecture and Building
Head of SchoolProf Anthony Mills
anthony.mills@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78311F
HDR CoordinatorDr Astrid Roetzel
astrid.roetzel@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78752S
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Richard Tucker
richard.tucker@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78308F
HDR CoordinatorDr Linda Osman-Schlegel
linda.osman@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78323F

School of Life and Environmental Sciences
Head of SchoolProf Chris Austin
c.austin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68383B
Deputy Head of SchoolProf John Donald
john.donald@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72097G
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Giovanni Turchini
giovanni.turchini@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 556 33312W
HDR Coordinator (Burwood)Dr Sharon La Fontaine
sharon.lafontaine@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17669B
HDR Coordinator (Warrnambool)Dr Adam Miller
a.miller@deakin.edu.au 
+61 3 556 33171W
HDR Coordinator (Geelong)Dr Jim Rookes
james.rookes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71394G

School of Engineering
Head of SchoolProf Ian Gibson
ian.gibson@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73094G
Associate Head of School (Research)A/Prof Bernard Rolfe
bernard.rolfe@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72417G
HDR CoordinatorDr Riyadh Al-Ameri
r.alameri@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72397G
HDR AdministratorKate Hecimovic
kate.hecimovic@deakin.edu.au  
+61 3 522 71415G

School of Information Technology
Head of SchoolProf John Yearwood
john.yearwood@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 924 68727B
Associate Head of School (Research)Prof Yong Xiang
yong.xiang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17740B
HDR CoordinatorDr Atul Sajjanhar
atul.sajjanhar@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 925 17441B
HDR Coordinator (Waurn Ponds)Dr Shang Gao
shang.gao@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71383G

GTP Research

PositionContactTelephoneCampus
DirectorProf Xungai Wang
xungai.wang@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72894G

Institute for Frontier Materials
HDR CoordinatorProf Matthew Barnett
matthew.barnett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72797G
HDR CoordinatorDr Daniel Fabijanic
daniel.fabijanic@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72413G
HDR CoordinatorDr Luke O'Dell
luke.odell@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73076G
HDR CoordinatorDr Christopher Hurren
christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72374G
HDR Support CoordinatorMrs Helen Woodall
helen.woodall@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72930G
HDR Administrative SupportMs Tamara Forbes
tamara.forbes@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 78804G

Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation
Director, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and InnovationProf Saeid Nahavandi
saeid.nahavandi@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71231G
HDR CoordinatorDr Asim Bhatti
asim.bhatti@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72548G
Associate Professor (Research)A/Prof Douglas Creighton
douglas.creighton@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72179G
Associate Professor in Complex SystemsA/Prof Chee Peng Lim
chee.lim@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 73307
+61 3 5227 1046
G

Institute of Koorie Education

Position Contact Telephone Campus
Director Prof Liz Cameron
l.cameron@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 524 79358 G
Deputy Director Prof Brian Martin
b.martin@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 72669 G
HDR Coordinator Prof Estelle Barrett
e.barrett@deakin.edu.au
+61 3 522 71367 B
Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: