Human Ethics Advisory Groups

"Low risk research" is one of the categories of research identified in the National Statement, and is defined as "research in which the only foreseeable risk is one of discomfort."1

At Deakin, Human Ethics Advisory Groups (HEAG) are responsible for the review of all low risk research in accordance with the National Statement. Each of the Faculties has its own HEAG which is comprised of academic staff members.

Human Ethics Advisory Group Contacts

Please contact your Faculty HEAG for Faculty-specific information.

HEAG Contact Person Telephone Campus

 Arts and Education

Ms Kylie Koulkoudinas
+61 3 522 72368G
Business and Law

Ms Katrina Fleming

+61 3 522 73362G

Ms Penny Andrews (Mon and Wed)

+61 3 925 17174B
Science, Engineering and
Built Environment

Ms Sandra Dunoon

Ms Teresa Treffry

+61 3 522 72270

+61 3 556 33535



2016 Human Ethics Advisory Group Membership

Each of the four Faculties at Deakin has a Human Ethics Advisory Group (HEAG) which is responsible for the review of low risk research as per the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (NHMRC 2007).

HEAG Membership

Arts and Education

    Business and Law   


Science, Engineering and Built Environment

A/Prof Kristin Demetrious* (G)

Dr Achinto Roy*

Prof Trish Dunning*

Dr Simon James**

Dr Anthony Ware (B)

Dr Pandora Kay (after March 2016)

Dr Nicolas Kambouropoulos

A/Prof Arun Patil

Prof Brenda Cherednichenko (B)

Dr Arifur Khan

Dr Sara Cicerale

A/Prof Pubudu Pathirana
Dr Brian Doig (B)

Dr Claudio Bozzi

Dr Alison Booth

Dr Chunlu Liu

Dr Claire Spicer (B)

Dr Nick McClaren

Dr Catherine Milte

Dr Igor Martek

Dr Dawn Joseph (B)

 Dr Fara Azmat

Dr Peter Kremer

Dr Kelly Miller

Dr Edlyn Chao (B)

 Dr Mona Chung

Dr Trina Hinkley

Dr Longxiang Gao

Dr Emma Charlton (B)

Dr Sagarika Mishra

A/Prof Daniel Belavy

A/Prof Geoffrey Wescott

Dr Esther Loong (B)

Dr Luca Colombo (Trimester 2)

Dr Gunveen Kaur

Dr Gaye Williams (B)

Dr Siewmee Barton

Dr Ewa Szymlek-Gay

Dr Hossein Shokouhi (B)

Dr Xueli Tang

Dr Rachel Laws

Dr Jo Raphael (B)

Dr Ali Tamadonni JahromiDr Wei-Peng Teo

Dr Joanne O'Mara (B)

Dr Karen Campbell

Dr Kirsten Hutchison (B)

Dr Danielle Hitch

Dr Liz Rouse (B)

Dr Penny Love

Dr Lucinda McKnight (B)

Ms Kelli Nicola-Richmond

Dr Ly Tran (B)

Dr Jan Moore

Dr Peta White (B)

Dr Genevieve Pepin

Dr Radhika Gorur (B)

Dr Chris Stevenson

Dr Sarah Ohi (B)

Dr Linda Wilson

Dr Wanty Widjaja (B)

Dr Paul Lewandowski

Dr Zosia Golebiowski (B)

Ms Sharyn Milnes

Mr Andrew Skourdoumbis (B)

Prof Wei Duan

Mrs Catherine Smith (B)

Dr Maryann Street

Mrs Jacquie Peters (B)

Dr Rhonda Brown

Mrs Kate Harvie (B)

Dr Helen Rawson

A/Prof Andrew Singleton (B)

Dr Bernice Redley

A/Prof Keith Beattie (B)

Dr Leah East

Dr Andrew Groves (B)

A/Prof Diane Phillips

Dr Bart Ziino (B)

Dr John Rolley

Dr Cai Wilkinson (B)

Dr Christian Hyde

Dr Danielle Chubb (B)

Dr Emily Kothe

Dr David Hundt (B)

Dr Sharon Casey

Dr Fengqi Qian (B)

Dr Jaclyn Broadbent

Dr Linda Young (B)

A/Prof David Austin

Dr Mick Leahy (B)

A/Prof Peter Miller

Dr Rebecca Fanany (B)

Dr Mark Rogers
Dr Sam Balaton-Chrimes (B)
Dr Timo Rantalainen

Dr Steven Cooke (B)

Dr Nicky Ridgers

Dr Vicki Ware (B)

Dr Helen Macpherson

Dr Wendy O'Brien (B)

Dr Wei Wang

Dr Yamini Narayanan (B)

Ms Penny Andrews

Ms Kate Neely (B)

Prof Linda Hancock (B)

A/Prof Martin Hirst (B)

Dr David Ritchie (B)

Dr Kirk DeBruyn (B)

Dr Meghan Kelly (B)

Dr Rea Dennis (B)

Dr Sharyn McDonald (B)

Dr Toija Cinque (B)

Dr Usha Rodrigues (B)

Dr Jessica Walton (B)

Dr Michelle Smith (B)

Dr Ruth Jackson (B)

A/Prof Bonnie Hoi Yin Yim (G)

A/Prof Coral Campbell (G)

Dr Dianne Toe (G)

Dr Heather Wallace (G)

Dr Janet Moles (G)

Dr Linda Hobbs (G)

Dr Lou Preston (G)

Dr Louise Paatsch (G)

Dr Muriel Wells (G)

Dr Trace Ollis (G)

Dr Wendy Kortman (G)

Mr John Hodgens (G)

Prof Andrea Nolan (G)

Dr Greg Burgess (G)

Dr Ken Boutin (G)

Dr Richard Evans (G)

Prof Liz Eckermann (G)

Dr Paul Venzo (G)

A/Prof Bernadette Walker-Gibbs (W)

Dr Julianne Lynch (W)

Dr Sandra Herbert (W)

Dr Shelley Hannigan (W)

Dr Max Kelly (W)

Dr Santosh Jatrana (WF)

Dr Victoria Stead (WF)

*HEAG Chair

**Acting HEAG Chair

1National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research, 2007, p.16, NHMRC.

Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: