Study anywhere, anytime. Study right now. Find out more. 

Trimester dates

This page displays all important dates to do with your enrolment, including teaching periods, holidays, census dates, withdrawal dates, exam periods and deadlines for application to graduate.

2014 - 2015 dates

Trimester 1 2014 10 March 2014 – 20 June 2014
Friday 3 January University opens for 2014
Monday 27 January Australia Day - University closed 27 January in lieu of 26 January
Monday 3 February T1 Invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 9 February Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T1
Sunday 9 February International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 24 February International students on-campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in T1
Monday 3 March  Orientation week begins - all students
Friday 7 March Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units to enrolment for T1
10 March - 14 MarchWEEK 1
Monday 10 March T1 teaching period begins
Monday 10 March Labour Day - University remains open
Wednesday 12 March T1 Fees due
Wednesday 12 March International students - first instalment of at least 50% of T1 fees due
17 March - 21 MarchWEEK 2
Sunday 23 March International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 23 March On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to T1 enrolment, subject to availability of places
24 March - 28 MarchWEEK 3
31 March - 4 AprilWEEK 4
Monday  31 March Census date (details)
7 April - 11 AprilWEEK 5
14 April - 17 AprilWEEK 6
Friday 18 April Good Friday - University closed
Friday 18 April - Sunday 27 April Intra-trimester break
Monday 21 April Easter Monday - University closed
Tuesday 22 April Easter Tuesday - University closed
Friday 25 April ANZAC Day public holiday - University closed
Sunday 27 April Last day of intra-trimester break
28 April - 2 MayWEEK 7
Monday 28 April Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T1 released on StudentConnect
Monday 28 April T1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Wednesday 30 April International students - final instalment of T1 fees due
5 May - 9 MayWEEK 8
Sunday 11 May Last day to withdraw from T1 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
12 May - 16 MayWEEK 9
Monday 12 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
Sunday 18 May Residential unit 1 census date
19 May - 23 MayWEEK 10
26 May - 30 MayWEEK 11
Monday 26 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
Friday 30 May T1 teaching period ends
Friday 30 May Last day to withdraw from T1 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) listed on academic record
Monday 2 - Friday 6 June T1 study period
Monday 9 June Exams begin
Monday 9 June Queen's Birthday - University remains open
Friday 20 June Exams end
Monday 23 June - Friday 11 July Inter trimester break
Thursday 10 July, 6pm T1 results released
Wednesday 16 July Supplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Thursday 17 July Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Committee for T1
Monday 28 July Supplementary and special exams begin
Thursday 31 July (for October ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T1
Friday 1 August Supplementary and special exams end
to be confirmed Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T1 results to Deakin
Trimester 2 2014 14 July 2014 – 24 October 2014
Monday 9 June T2 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 15 June Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T2
Sunday 15 June      International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 90% refund
Sunday 6 July Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units toT2 enrolment
Monday 7 July International students on-campus orientation and enrolment for T2
14 July - 18 JulyWEEK 1
Monday 14 July T2 teaching period begins
21 July - 25 JulyWEEK 2
Sunday 27 July T2 fees due
Sunday 27 July International students - first instalment of at least50% of T2 fees due
Sunday 27 July International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 27 July On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to enrolment, subject to availability of places
28 July - 1 AugustWEEK 3
4 August - 8 AugustWEEK 4
Friday 15 August Census date (details)
Monday 11 August - Sunday 17 August Intra-trimester break
18 August - 22 AugustWEEK 5
25 August - 29 AugustWEEK 6
Sunday 31 August Residential unit 2 census date
1 September - 5 SeptemberWEEK 7
Monday 1 September Exam timetable released on StudentConnect
8 September - 12 SeptemberWEEK 8
Thursday 11 September Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T2 released on StudentConnect
Sunday 14 September Last day to withdraw from T2 with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
15 September - 19 SeptemberWEEK 9
Monday 15 September International students - final instalment of T2 fees due
Monday 15 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
22 September - 26 SeptemberWEEK 10
29 September - 3 OctoberWEEK 11
Monday 29 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
Friday 3 October T2 teaching period ends
Friday 3 October Last day to withdraw from T2 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN)  listed on academic record
Monday 6 October - Friday 10 October Study period
Monday 13 October Exams begin
Friday 24 October Exams end
Monday 27 October - Friday 7 November Inter-trimester break
Friday 31 October (International students only for December ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T2
Friday 7 November, 6pm T2 Results released
Friday 14 November Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Committee for T2
Monday 15 December Supplementary and special exam timetable for T2 released on StudentConnect
to be confirmed Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T2 results to Deakin
Thursday 12 February 2015 Supplementary and special exams for T2 begin
Friday 20 February 2015 Supplementary and special exams for T2 end
Trimester 3 2014-15 10 November 2014 – 20 February 2015
Sunday 12 October Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T3
Sunday 12 October International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 13 October T3 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 2 November Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units to T3 enrolment
Monday 3 November International students T3 on-campus orientation and enrolment
Tuesday 4 November Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open
10 November - 14 NovemberWEEK 1
Monday 10 November T3 teaching period begins
17 November - 21 NovemberWEEK 2
Sunday 23 November International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 23 November On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to T3 enrolment, subject to availability of places
24 November - 28 NovemberWEEK 3
Thursday 27 November T3 fees due
Thursday 27 November International students - first instalment of at least 50% of T3 fees due
1 December - 5 DecemberWEEK 4
8 December - 12 DecemberWEEK 5
15 December - 19 December WEEK 6
Monday 15 December Census date (details)
Monday 15 December Residential unit 3 census date
Monday 15 December T3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Monday 22 December - Sunday 4 January 2015 Intra-trimester break
5 January - 9 JanuaryWEEK 7
Friday 9 January 2015 Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T3 released on StudentConnect
Sunday 11 January 2015 Last day to withdraw from T3 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
12 January - 16 JanuaryWEEK 8
Thursday 15 January 2015 International students - final instalment of T3 fees due
Thursday 15 January 2015 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
19 January - 23 JanuaryWEEK 9
27 January - 30 JanuaryWEEK 10
Thursday 29 January 2015 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
to be confirmed (for April ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T2 or T3
2 February - 6 FebruaryWEEK 11
Friday 6 February 2015 T3 teaching period ends
Friday 6 February 2015 Last day to withdraw from T3 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) grade listed on academic record
Monday 9 - Wednesday 11 February 2015 T3 study period
Thursday 12 February 2015 Exams begin
Friday 20 February 2015 Exams end
Monday 23 February - Friday 6 March 2015 Inter trimester break
Thursday 5 March 2015 Results released
Monday 27 April 2015 Supplementary and special exam timetable for T3 released on StudentConnect
to be confirmed Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their results to Deakin
Monday 8 June 2015 Supplementary and special exams for T3 start
Friday 19 June 2015 Supplementary and special exams for T3 end

Please be aware that these dates are subject to change; check this page regularly.

2013 - 2014 dates

Trimester 1 2013 11 March 2013 – 22 June 2013
Friday 4 January University opens for 2013
Monday 28 January Australia Day - University closed 28 January in lieu of 26 January
Monday 4 February T1 Invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 10 February Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T1
Sunday 10 February International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 25 February International students on-campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in T1
Sunday 3 March Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units to enrolment for T1
Monday 4 March  Orientation week begins - all students
Monday 11 March T1 teaching period begins
Monday 11 March Labour Day - University remains open
Tuesday 12 March T1 Fees due
Tuesday 12 March International students - first instalment of at least 50% of T1 fees due
Sunday 24 March International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 24 March On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to T1 enrolment, subject to availability of places
Friday 29 March Good Friday - University closed
Friday 29 March - Sunday 7 April Intra-trimester break
Sunday  31 March Census date (details)
Monday 1 April Easter Monday - University closed
Tuesday 2 April Easter Tuesday - University closed
Sunday 7 April Last day of intra-trimester break
Thursday 25 April ANZAC Day public holiday - University closed
Friday 26 April Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T1 released on StudentConnect
Tuesday 30 April International students - final instalment of T1 fees due
Monday 6 May T1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Sunday 12 May Last day to withdraw from T1 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Thursday 16 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
Saturday 18 May Residential unit 1 census date
Thursday 30 May Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
Friday 7 June T1 teaching period ends
Friday 7 June Last day to withdraw from T1 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) listed on academic record
Monday 10 -Wednesday 12 June T1 study period
Thursday 13 June Exams begin
Monday 10 June Queen's Birthday - University remains open
Friday 21 June Exams end
Monday 24 June -Friday 12 July Inter trimester break
Thursday 11 July, 6pm T1 results released
Wednesday 17 July Supplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Thursday 18 July Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Academic Progress and Discipline Committee for T1
Monday 29 July Supplementary and special exams begin
Wednesday 31 July (for October ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T1
Friday 2 August Supplementary and special exams end
Friday 23 August Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T1 results to Deakin
Trimester 2 2013 15 July 2013 – 25 October 2013
Monday 10 June T2 invoices available on StudentConnect
Sunday 16 June Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T2
Sunday 16 June
International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 90% refund
Sunday 14 July Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units to T2 enrolment
Monday 8 July International students on-campus orientation and enrolment for T2
Monday 15 July T2 teaching period begins
Saturday 27 July T2 fees due
Saturday 27 July International students - first instalment of at least 50% of T2 fees due
Sunday 28 July International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 28 July On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to enrolment, subject to availability of places
Thursday 15 August Census date (details)
Monday 12 August - Sunday18 August Intra-trimester break
Saturday 31 August Residential unit 2 census date
Monday 9 September Exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Wednesday 11 September Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T2 released on StudentConnect
Sunday 15 September International students - final instalment of T2 fees due
Sunday 15 September Last day to withdraw from T2 with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Thursday 19 September Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
Thursday 3 October Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
Friday 11 October T2 teaching period ends
Friday 11 October Last day to withdraw from T2 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN)  listed on academic record
Monday 14 October - Wednesday 16 October Study period
Thursday 17 October Exams begin
Friday 25 October Exams end
Monday 28 October - Friday 8 November Inter-trimester break
Thursday 31 October (International students only for December ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T2
Friday 8 November, 6pm T2 results released
Friday 15 November Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Academic Progress and Discipline Committee for T2
Monday 6 December Supplementary and special exam timetable for T2 released on StudentConnect
Friday 17 January 2014 Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T2 results to Deakin
Thursday 13 February 2014 Supplementary and special exams for T2 begin
Friday 21 February 2014 Supplementary and special exams for T2 end
Trimester 3 2013-14 11 November 2013 – 21 February 2014
Sunday 13 October Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T3
Sunday 13 October International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 90% refund
Monday 14 October T3 invoices available on StudentConnect
Monday 4 November International students T3 on-campus orientation and enrolment
Tuesday 5 November Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open
Sunday 10 November Off-campus units - last day to add off-campus units to T3 enrolment
Monday 11 November T3 teaching period begins
Sunday 24 November International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 100% refund
Sunday 24 November On-campus units - last day to add on-campus units to T3 enrolment, subject to availability of places
Wednesday 27 November T3 fees due
Wednesday 27 November International students - first instalment of at least 50% of T3 fees due
Sunday 15 December Census date (details)
Sunday 15 December Residential unit 3 census date
Monday 16 December T3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect
Tuesday 24 December - Thursday 2 January 2014 Intra-trimester break
Friday 10 January 2014 Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T3 released on StudentConnect
Sunday 12 January 2014 Last day to withdraw from T3 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record
Wednesday 15 January 2014 International students - final instalment of T3 fees due
Thursday 16 January 2014 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee
Thursday 30 January 2014 Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee
Friday 31 January 2014 (for April ceremonies) Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T2 or T3
Friday 7 February 2014 T3 teaching period ends
Friday 7 February 2014 Last day to withdraw from T3 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) grade listed on academic record
Monday 10 - Wednesday 12 February 2014 T3 study period
Thursday 13 February 2014  exams begin
Friday 21 February 2014  exams end
Monday 24 February - Friday 7 March 2014 Inter trimester break
Thursday 6 March 2014  results released
to be confirmed Supplementary and special exam timetable for T3 released on StudentConnect
Friday 11 April 2014 Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their  results to Deakin
Monday 9 June 2014 Supplementary and special exams for T3 start
Friday 20 June 2014 Supplementary and special exams for T3 end

Census date explained

International students:

  • International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Trimester and receive a 50% refund

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Trimester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current Trimester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Trimester
  • Last day to withdraw from current Trimester without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

  • Last day to withdraw from current Trimester units without reference on academic record

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.


Back to top