Dates and application deadlines

Deakin students at the Geelong waterfront

Application deadlines and arrival dates


Trimester 2, 2016

Application deadline

10 April 2016

Recommended arrival (arranging accommodation on arrival)

27 June 2016

Recommended arrival (pre-arranged accommodation)

3 July 2016

Beach Welcome Trip (Optional and free of charge)

4-6 July 2016

Orientation

7-8 July 2016

Classes commence

11 July 2016

 Vacation Period

15 –21 August 2016

Second Trimester lectures end

30 September 2016

Study Period

3 – 7 October 2016

Second Trimester examinations

10 - 21 October 2016

Trimester 3, 2016

Application deadline

30 August 2016

Recommended arrival (arranging accommodation on arrival)

24 October 2016

Recommended arrival (pre-arranged accommodation)

30 October 2016

Orientation

31 October- 4 November 2016

Classes commence

7 November 2016

 Vacation Period

26 December 2016 - 8 January 2017

Third Trimester lectures end

3 February 2017

Study Period

6 –8 February 2017

Third Trimester examinations

9 - 17 February 2017

Trimester 1, 2017

Application deadline

30 October 2016

Recommended arrival (arranging accommodation on arrival)

6 February 2017

Recommended arrival (pre-arranged accommodation)

19 February 2017

Beach Welcome Trip (Optional and free of charge)

20- 22 February 2017

Orientation

23 February - 3 March 2017

Classes commence

6 March 2017

 Vacation Period 

10- 18 April 2017

First Trimester lectures end

26 May 2017

Study Period

29 May - 2 June 2017

First Trimester examinations

5- 16 June 2017


Trimester 2, 2017

Application deadline

10 April 2017

Recommended arrival (arranging accommodation on arrival)

26 June 2017

Recommended arrival (pre-arranged accommodation)

2 July 2017

Beach Welcome Trip (Optional and free of charge)

3-5 July 2017

Orientation

6-7 July 2017

Classes commence

10 July 2017

 Vacation Period

14 –20 August 2017

Second Trimester lectures end

29 September 2017

Study Period

2-6 October 2017

Second Trimester examinations

9-20 October 2017

Important Dates

Trimester 1, 2016

T1 2016 dates and deadlines by date and event
Date Event or deadline

Monday 4 January

University opens for 2016

Tuesday 26 January

Australia Day - University closed

Friday 29 January Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in T2 and T3 2015 for March/April ceremonies

Monday 1 February

T1 Invoices available on StudentConnect

Sunday 7 February

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T1

Sunday 7 February

International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 90% refund

Monday 8 February STAR timetable opens - preference entry for campus based units
Monday 15 February STAR closes for sorting of preferences
Tuesday 16 February STAR re-opens for timetable viewing and adjustment

Monday 22 February

International students Campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in T1

Monday 29 February

Orientation week begins - all students

7 March - 11 March

WEEK 1

Monday 7 March

T1 teaching period begins

Saturday 12 March

T1 Fees due

Saturday 12 March

International students (currently enrolled) - first instalment of at least 50% of T1 fees due

Monday 14 March

Labour Day - University remains open

14 March - 18 March

WEEK 2

Sunday 20 March

International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T1 and receive a 100% refund

Sunday 20 March

Last day to add units to T1 enrolment, both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places

21 March – 24 March

WEEK 3

Friday 25 March

Good Friday - University closed

Friday 25 March - Sunday 3 April

Intra-trimester break

Monday 28 March

Easter Monday - University closed

Tuesday 29 March

Easter Tuesday - University closed

Thursday 31 March Graduation ceremonies in Warrnambool

Thursday 31 March

Census date (details)

4 April - 8 April

WEEK 4

11 April - 15 April

WEEK 5

12 April - 21 April Graduation ceremonies at the Waterfront campus (for Burwood and Geelong graduates)

18 April - 22 April

WEEK 6

Monday 25 April

ANZAC Day - University closed

25 April - 29 April

WEEK 7

Tuesday 26 April T1 exam timetable released on StudentConnect

Thursday 28 April

Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T1 released on StudentConnect

Saturday 30 April

International students (currently enrolled) - final instalment of T1 fees due

2 May - 6 May

WEEK 8

Sunday 8 May

Last day to withdraw from T1 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

9 May - 13 May

WEEK 9

Monday 9 May

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

Wednesday 18 May

Residential unit 1 census date

16 May - 20 May

WEEK 10

23 May - 27 May

WEEK 11

Monday 23 May

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

Friday 27 May

T1 teaching period ends

Friday 27 May

Last day to withdraw from T1 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) listed on academic record

Monday 30 May - Friday 3 June

T1 study period

Monday 6 June

Exams begin

Monday 13 June

Queen's Birthday - University remains open

Friday 17 June

Exams end

Monday 20 June - Friday 8 July

Inter trimester break

Friday 1 July Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in T1 for October ceremonies

Thursday 7 July

T1 results released at 6 pm

Wednesday 13 July

Supplementary and special exam timetable released on StudentConnect

Thursday 14 July

Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Committee for T1

Monday 25 July

Supplementary and special exams begin

Friday 29 July

Graduation applications close for students completing their degree at end of T1 for October ceremonies

Friday 29 July

Supplementary and special exams end

Friday 29 July

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T1 results to Deakin

Trimester 2, 2016

T2 2016 dates and deadlines by date and event
Date Event

Monday 6 June

T2 invoices available on StudentConnect

Sunday 12 June

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T2

Sunday 12 June     

International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 90% refund

Monday 20 June STAR timetable opens - preference entry for campus based units
Monday 27 June STAR closes for sorting of preferences
Tuesday 28 June STAR re-opens for timetable viewing and adjustment

Monday 4 July

International students Campus orientation and enrolment for T2

Monday 11 July

T2 teaching period begins

11 July - 15 July

WEEK 1

18 July - 22 July

WEEK 2

Sunday 24 July

International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T2 and receive a 100% refund

Sunday 24 July

Last day to add units to T2 enrolment, both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places

25 July - 29 July

WEEK 3

Wednesday 27 July

T2 fees due

Wednesday 27 July

International students (currently enrolled) - first instalment of at least 50% of T2 fees due

1 August - 5 August

WEEK 4

8 August - 12 August

WEEK 5

Monday 15 August

Census date (details)

Monday 15 August - Sunday 21 August

Intra-trimester break

22 August - 26 August

WEEK 6

Sunday 28 August

Residential unit 2 census date

29 August - 2 September

WEEK 7

Monday 29 August

Exam timetable released on StudentConnect

5 September - 9 September

WEEK 8

Sunday 11 September

Last day to withdraw from T2 with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

Monday 12 September

Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T2 released on StudentConnect

Monday 12 September

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

12 September - 16 September

WEEK 9

Thursday 15 September

International students (currently enrolled) - final instalment of T2 fees due

19 September - 23 September

WEEK 10

26 September - 30 September

WEEK 11

Monday 26 September

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

Friday 30 September

T2 teaching period ends

Friday 30 September

Last day to withdraw from T2 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) listed on academic record

Friday 30 September AFL Grand Final Eve public holiday - University closed
Monday 3 October Graduation applications open for international students completing their degree in T2 for December ceremonies

Monday 3 October - Friday 7 October

Study period

Tuesday 4 October - Thursday 6 October Graduation ceremonies at Waterfront campus for students (all campuses) who completed their degree in T1

Monday 10 October

Exams begin

Friday 21 October

Exams end

Monday 24 October - Friday 4 November

Inter-trimester break

Monday 31 October

Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for international students completing their degree in T2 for December ceremonies

Friday 4 November

T2 Results released at 6 pm

Friday 11 November

Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Committee for T2

Friday 2 December Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in T2 for March/April ceremonies.

Monday 12 December

Supplementary and special exam timetable for T2 released on StudentConnect

Monday 9 January 2017

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their T2 results to Deakin

Thursday 9 February 2017

Supplementary and special exams for T2 begin

Friday 17 February 2017

Supplementary and special exams for T2 end

Trimester 3, 2016

T3 2016 dates and deadlines by date and event 
Date Event

Sunday 9 October

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students to apply to undertake cross-institutional studies in T3

Sunday 9 October

International students - last day for commencing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 90% refund

Monday 10 October

T3 invoices available on StudentConnect

Monday 24 October STAR timetable opens - preference entry for campus based units
Monday 31 October STAR closes for sorting of preferences

Monday 31 October

International students T3 Campus orientation and enrolment

Tuesday 1 November STAR re-opens for timetable viewing and adjustment

Tuesday 1 November

Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open

Monday 7 November

T3 teaching period begins

7 November - 11 November

WEEK 1

14 November - 18 November

WEEK 2

Sunday 20 November

International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from T3 and receive a 100% refund

Sunday 20 November

Last day to add units to T3 enrolment, both Campus and Cloud Campus - subject to availability of places

21 November - 25 November

WEEK 3

Sunday 27 November

T3 fees due

Sunday 27 November

International students (currently enrolled) - first instalment of at least 50% of T3 fees due

28 November - 2 December

WEEK 4

5 December - 9 December

WEEK 5

12 December - 16 December

WEEK 6

Monday 12 December

T3 exam timetable released on StudentConnect

Thursday 15 December

Census date (details)

Thursday 15 December

Residential unit 3 census date

15 December - 16 December Graduation ceremonies in Geelong for international and medicine students who completed their degree in T2/S2

19 December - 23 December

WEEK 7

To be confirmed Graduation applications open for students completing their degree in T3 for March/April 2016 ceremonies

Monday 26 December - Sunday 8 January 2017

Intra-trimester break

Sunday 8 January 2017

Last day to withdraw from T3 with Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record

9 January - 13 January 2017

WEEK 8

Thursday 12 January 2017

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location without penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

Thursday 12 January 2017

Commonwealth Assistance Notices for T3 released on StudentConnect

Sunday 15 January 2017

International students (currently enrolled) - final instalment of T3 fees due

16 January - 20 January 2017

WEEK 9

23 January - 27 January 2017

WEEK 10

Thursday 26 January 2017

Australia Day – University closed

Friday 27 January 2017

Exam location - last day to request a change in exam location with penalty fee for Cloud Campus units

To be confirmed Graduation applications close and graduation fee due for students completing their degree in T2 or T3 for March/April ceremonies

30 January - 3 February 2017

WEEK 11

Friday 3 February 2017

T3 teaching period ends

Friday 3 February 2017

Last day to withdraw from T3 units with Withdrawn Fail (WN) grade listed on academic record

Monday 6 - Wednesday 8 February 2017

T3 study period

Thursday 9 February 2017

Exams begin

Friday 17 February 2017

Exams end

Monday 20 February - Friday 3 March 2017

Inter trimester break

Thursday 2 March 2017

Results released at 6 pm

Thursday 9 March 2017 Last day to request a review of results to Faculty Committee for T3

Thursday 30 March 2017

Cross-institutional studies - last day for Deakin students who have studied at another institution to provide their results to Deakin

Monday 24 April 2017

Supplementary and special exam timetable for T3 released on StudentConnect

Monday 5 June 2017

Supplementary and special exams for T3 start

Friday 16 June 2017

Supplementary and special exams for T3 end

Page custodian: Deakin International
Last updated: