Alfred Deakin Scholarships in Law

The Alfred Deakin Scholarships in Law were introduced in 2001, which was the Centenary of Australia's Federation. Alfred Deakin, after whom the University is named, was Australia's second Prime Minister and our first Attorney General. 

A small number of scholarships will be awarded to students, with the highest ATAR, who accept a first-round offer into the Bachelor of Laws as a single degree or combined with other degrees.


Cash payment up to $2800 per year and academic mentor support, subject to academic performance.


Three to five years (pro-rata)

Number per year

Up to seven


To be eligible for this scholarship you must be:

  • an Australian citizen or holder of an Australian permanent humanitarian visa
  • a commencing student enrolled in a Bachelor of Laws or a combined Law course in a Commonwealth supported place at the Melbourne Campus at Burwood, Geelong Campus at Waurn Ponds or the Warrnambool Campus.

Selection criteria

Academic excellence based on the ATAR achieved.

How to apply

VTAC course applicants are automatically considered for this scholarship.  A separate scholarship application form is not required.

Closing date

Applications for Trimester 1 2015 have now closed.

Page custodian: Division of Student Administration
Last updated: