The George Alexander Foundation Scholarships at Deakin University

The George Alexander Foundation Scholarships at Deakin University were established by the George Alexander Foundation in 2006, with the aim of assisting undergraduate students who have the academic ability and the will to succeed in higher education.


Cash payment of $5000 per year.


Three years, subject to satisfactory academic performance

Number per year



To be eligible for this scholarship you must be:

  • an Australian citizen or holder of an Australian permanent humanitarian visa
  • a commencing student enrolled full time in an undergraduate course at the Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus, Geelong Waterfront Campus or the Warrnambool Campus in a Commonwealth supported place

Selection criteria

Selection will be based on the following criteria:

  • strong academic standing (minimum ATAR score of 75) 
  • participation in and commitment to community / volunteer activities 
  • leadership experience

Special conditions

Scholarship recipients will be required to promote the image of Deakin University and the George Alexander Foundation, both within and outside the University, and participate in the network of The George Alexander Foundation Scholars.

How to apply

Applicants can apply directly to Deakin University via the Deakin Course and Scholarship Applicant Portal.

Closing Date

Applications for Trimester 1 2014 are closed.

Supporting documentation

As part of the application process you will also be required to provide supporting documentation. This documentation must be uploaded as part of your online scholarship application.

Prior to the scholarship closing you will be able to re-enter your online scholarship application at any time to upload your documents.  You can use the 'Upload Documents' option at the top on the application page to submit your documentation.

Back to top