## **REVIEW OF HONORARY DEGREES 2019**

### **PURPOSE**

To report on awards made under the University's honorary degrees program in 2019.

## **AWARDS CONFERRED IN 2019**

The University conferred 13 Deakin Honorary Doctorates in 2019. This is our highest number in any one year and above the usual number of six to ten per year.

The relatively high number in 2019 was due to three factors. First there was an increase in the number of graduation ceremonies in 2019 accommodating the conferral of awards. Second, there were two special conferrals in addition to regular graduation ceremonies – to Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw in India and Cadel Evans at Deakin Edge. Third, the honorary degrees program has an increased profile across the University compared to previous years, resulting in more nominations.

# **Deakin Honorary Doctorates conferred in 2019**

Awardee and citation	Conferral
Tony Ellwood AM for outstanding leadership in the arts and arts education programs	14 February 2019
Peter Norden AO for eminent and sustained service to the Australian non- government sector in the field of community services	14 February 2019
Andrew Norton for services to the Australian Higher Education Sector through policy leadership and research over a sustained period	19 February 2019
Ms Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw for her pioneering entrepreneurial role in biotechnology and her sustained and significant contribution to university and industry connections between India and Australia	12 March 2019 at the Australian High Commission in India as part of Deakin's 25th anniversary in India celebrations
Cadel Evans AM for his inspiring example of achievement through dedication and determination and for promoting gender equity in sport and health through cycling	8 May 2019 at the 2019 David Parkin Oration on sport and social change
Professor Joe Graffam in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Deakin University in a range of academic and research leadership positions	18 June 2019
Melinda Smith OAM for her outstanding contribution to the arts and her tireless work in breaking down barriers to inclusion for people with disability both in Australia and internationally	18 June 2019
Robert Costa for his significant and sustained commitment to shaping the future of Geelong through his invaluable contributions to a range of community organisations	19 June 2019
Helene Bender OAM for distinguished service to the governance of Deakin University as a member of the University Council from 2008 to 2018 and as Deputy Chancellor from 2010 to 2016, and for her significant contribution to the Geelong community and especially charitable causes	1 October 2019

Awardee and citation	Conferral
Peter Meehan for distinguished service to the governance of Deakin University as a member of the University Council from 2007 to 2018 and as Deputy Chancellor from 2011 to 2018	1 October 2019
Professor Richard Tinning for his eminent contribution and leadership in social critical scholarship in health and physical education	2 October 2019
Magistrate Rosemary Falla in recognition of her distinguished career in law, which saw her become the first Indigenous Magistrate appointed in Victoria, and her service to the community through the establishment of the first Koorie Courts in Victoria	3 October 2019
Jill Smith for distinguished service to the Victorian arts and cultural sector - its artists, organisations and audiences; and to the City of Geelong, in particular, where her work has contributed to Geelong's profile as a cultural and innovation hub	3 October 2019

There is one approved award awaiting conferral.

## **STRATEGIC VALUE**

Honorary Degrees are awarded for eminent achievements aligned to the University's objectives and the program contributed significantly to University life in 2019:

- there was a good mix between awards for contribution to the University Joe Graffam, Helene Bender, Peter Meehan; to our local community – Robert Costa and Jill Smith; and to our key national and international partnerships – Tony Ellwood, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
- awardees delivered excellent addresses at graduation ceremonies
- the award to Cadel Evans was part of a highly successful public event at the DeakinEdge
- the award to Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw contributed significantly to the celebrations for Deakin's 25th anniversary in India
- the awards to Melinda Smith OAM and Magistrate Rosemary Falla underscored the University's commitments to social justice and access to education.

### CONSOLIDATED LIST OF ALL HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED

A full list of all recipients of honorary degrees is published on the University's website at <a href="http://www.deakin.edu.au/about-deakin/reputation/honorary-awards">http://www.deakin.edu.au/about-deakin/reputation/honorary-awards</a>.

**Dr Glenn Nicholls** 

Council Secretary October 2019

Received by Council 14 November 2019