Staff listing

Find out more about staff members at Deakin Business School's Department of Finance. Here you can see staff profiles, link through to their publications and get in touch.

Department of Finance staff

As a leading Australian department in both finance and real estate, we aim to produce world-class research, deliver excellent education and contribute to the Australian economy and the community around us.

Our research and teaching focus on financial markets and institutions, financial decisions of firms, real estate economics and property law. Our academic staff, comprising of experts in finance and real estate, consistently earn worldwide recognition for their research. We foster a dynamic research and teaching culture, emphasising academic significance and real-world impact.

Key contacts

Professor Xiangkang Yin, Head of Department

Dr Hoa Nguyen, Director of Teaching

Associate Professor Hong Feng Zhang, Director, Researcher Development

Dr Saikat Sovan Deb, Director, HDR

Course directors

Dr Ameeta Jain, Course Director, Bachelor of Property and Real Estate

Dr Ning Gong, Course Director, Master of Finance and Graduate Certificate of Digital Finance

Dr Christopher Ratcliffe, Course Director, Postgraduate Courses of Property and Real Estate

Academic contacts

Dr Tze Ang, Senior Lecturer

Dr Sohel Azad, Senior Lecturer

Professor Tarun Chordia, Professional Research Fellow

Dr Saikat Sovan Deb, Senior Lecturer

Dr Daisy Doan, Lecturer

Dr Mong Shan Ee, Senior Lecturer

Dr Ning Gong, Senior Lecturer

Dr Abdul Aziz Hayat Muhammad, Senior Lecturer

Dr Ameeta Jain, Senior Lecturer

Tom Keel, Associate Lecturer

Associate Professor Adrian Lee

Dr Fengfei Li, Senior Lecturer

Dr Emma Li, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Xiaoyang Li

Associate Professor Qiang Li

Dr Jerry Liang, Senior Lecturer

Dr Ruipeng Liu, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Mike Mao

Associate Professor Sagarika Mishra

Dr Annette Nguyen, Senior Lecturer

Dr Hoa Nguyen, Senior Lecturer

Dr Wei Opie, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Edward Podolski

Dr Christopher Ratcliffe, Senior Lecturer

Associate Professor Susan Sharma

Associate Professor Harminder Singh

Dr Kannan Thuraisamy, Senior Lecturer

Dr Peipei Wang, Lecturer

Dr Vincent Xiang, Senior Lecturer

Dr Robert Xiao, Senior Lecturer

Professor Xiangkang Yin

Associate Professor Hong Feng Zhang

Dr Xinwei Zheng, Senior Lecturer



Centre for Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Business
Professor Hind Benbya, Director

Centre for Disaster Resilience and Recovery 
Professor Mehmet Ulubasoglu, Director

Centre for Refugee Employment, Advocacy, Training and Education (CREATE)
Dr Karen Dunwoodie, Director

Deakin Integrated Reporting Centre
Professor Peter Carey, Research Director

IPA-Deakin SME Research Centre 
Professor George Tanewski, Director


Arts & Creative Industries Research and Engagement (ACiRE)
Professor Hilary Glow, Director

Better Consumption Lab 
Associate Professor Josh Newton, Director

Deakin MarTech Clinic 
Associate Professor Ali Tamaddoni, Director

Deakin MarTech Clinic
Professor Andre Bonfrer, Director

Impact Finance Hub
Dr Emma Li, Director

Leadership Futures Hub
Associate Professor Jeff Shao, Director

Leadership Futures Hub
Dr Yuen Lam Bavik, Director

Women's Entrepreneurship Research Alliance
Dr Andrea North-Samardzic, Director

Contact us

Get in touch or visit us at our Melbourne Burwood, Geelong Waterfront or Warrnambool Campuses.
+61 3 9244 6555

Email Deakin Business School