Teaching academies and alliances

Deakin partners with school leaders in Melbourne, Geelong and Warrnambool to deliver an enhanced model for pre-teacher education.

The teaching academies and alliances have improved the way we align our Initial Teacher Education programs with local schools’ priorities for improvement and advancement.

Advantages of a teaching academy model

The academies model ensures that Deakin education students receive placements/teaching practicums in their local areas. The alliance also provides a basis for a mutually beneficial, ongoing partnership between the university and our school communities.

It means that Deakin students receive preferred places, and at some schools exclusive placements.

Government support means more opportunities

The Victorian Government established 12 Teaching Academies of Professional Practice (TAPPs) in 2014 – three of these specifically for Deakin University.

The Deakin bid was regarded as an example of best practice, and a model for the future direction of TAPPs. Deakin’s academies and alliances receive ongoing financial support from the Department of Education and Training (DET)’s TAPP initiative.

Where are our academies and alliance located?

Three Deakin teaching academies have been established across Melbourne, Geelong and Warrnambool. Each of the academies includes a smaller 'alliance' of primary and secondary schools.

Geelong Teaching Academy

Newcomb Alliance
Site Director: Cara Johnson

  • Newcomb Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Geelong East Primary School
  • Leopold Primary School
  • Moolap Primary School
  • Newcomb Park Primary School
  • Tate Street Primary School
  • Whittington Primary School

Bellarine Alliance
Site Director: Shevonne Vass

  • Bellarine Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Barwon Heads Primary School
  • Clifton Springs Primary School
  • Drysdale Primary School
  • Ocean Grove Primary School
  • Portarlington Primary School
  • St Leonards Primary School
  • Surfside Primary School
  • Wallington Primary School

Surf Coast Alliance
Site Director: Kelly Sirca

  • Surf Coast Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Bellbrae Primary School
  • Moriac Primary School
  • Mt Duneed Regional Primary School
  • St Therese Primary School
  • Torquay P–6 College

North Geelong Alliance
Site Director: Stephanie McDonald

  • North Geelong Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Ashby Primary School
  • Bell Park North Primary School
  • Hamlyn Banks Primary School
  • Herne Hill Primary School
  • Nelson Park School
  • Rollins Primary School

Northern Bay Alliance
Site Director: Ray Messer

  • Northern Bay P–12 College (Coordinating school)
  • Hendy Street P–8
  • Peacock P–8
  • Tallis P–7
  • Wexford P–8

Tarneit and Werribee Alliance
Site Director: Shevonne Vass

  • Baden Powell P–9 College (Coordinating school)
  • Tarneit P–9 College
  • Tarneit Senior College
  • Werribee Primary School

Melbourne Teaching Academy

Ashwood Alliance
Site Director: Melissa Haley

  • Ashwood High School
  • Parkhill Primary School
  • Hartwell Primary School
  • Solway Primary School
  • Ashburton Primary School
  • Wattle Park Primary School
  • Essex Heights Primary School
  • Mt Waverley Heights Primary School
  • Mount Waverley Primary School
  • Ashwood School

Hallam and South East Alliance
Site Director: Helen Weston

  • Hallam Senior Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Dandenong North Primary School
  • Doveton College
  • Fountain Gate Secondary College
  • Gleneagles Secondary College
  • Grayling Primary School
  • Maramba Primary School
  • Mossgiel Park Primary School
  • Oatlands Primary School
  • Thomas Mitchell Primary School

Mooroolbark Alliance
Site Director: Stacey Macreadie

  • Mooroolbark College (Coordinating school)
  • Billanook Primary School
  • Bimbadeen Heights Primary School
  • Croydon Community School
  • Manchester Primary School
  • Montrose Primary School
  • Mooroolbark East
  • Pembroke Primary School
  • Rolling Hills Primary School

Ringwood Alliance
Site Director: Ceridwen Owen

  • Ringwood Secondary College (Coordinating school)
  • Croydon Community School
  • Croydon Hills Primary School
  • Great Ryrie Primary School
  • Heathmont East Primary School
  • Kalinda Primary School
  • Ringwood North Primary School
  • Warranwood Primary School
  • Wonga Park Primary School
  • Yarra Road Primary School

Whitehorse Alliance
Site Director: Arna Pletes

  • Forest Hill Secondary College
  • Blackburn High School
  • Box Hill Secondary College
  • Blackburn Primary School
  • Blackburn Lake Primary School
  • Koonung Secondary College
  • Laburnum Primary School
  • Mitcham Primary School
  • Old Orchard Primary School
  • Orchard Grove Primary School

Warrnambool Teaching Academy

Warrnambool Alliance
Site Director: Jeff Gillies

  • Brauer Secondary College
  • Grassmere Primary School
  • Hawkesdale P-12 College
  • Koroit and District Primary School
  • Merrivale Primary School (Coordinating school)
  • Panmure Primary
  • St Joseph's (Warrnambool) Primary
  • St Piux X Primary
  • Warrnambool East Primary School
  • Warrnambool Primary School
  • Woolsthorpe Primary School
  • Warrnambool Special Development School
  • Warrnambool West Primary School

Contact us

Melbourne Teaching Academy of Professional Practice
Stacey Macreadie
Email Stacey

Geelong and Warrnambool Academies of Professional Practice
Caitlin Hardiman
Email Caitlin