Our team

We are a network of internationally recognised researchers in health systems and services, prevention, population health and data and digital health working to transform how we design and deliver prevention and care.


Professor Anna Peeters

Domain directors

Obesity Prevention
Professor Steven Allender

Determinants of Health
Professor Tony LaMontagne

Centre for Quality and Patient Safety
Alfred Deakin Professor Alison Hutchinson

Deakin Health Economics
Professor Cathy Mihalopoulos

Operations Team

Executive Officer
Kate Morrissy

Administration Officer
Diane Russack


Designed to promote collaboration, the Institute consolidates and showcases multi-disciplinary health research strengths across sectors and disciplines and has over 200 members, including academics and post-graduate students.

We also facilitate collaboration and engagement with all Deakin’s Faculties, Institutes and research centres to deliver impact at scale.

This includes the: