Law Advisory Board

Meeting twice a year, the Law Advisory Board gives advice on course and discipline development, new courses and revisions to existing courses. 

The board also helps to set up opportunities for industry-based placements, staff consultancy and developing applied research.

Advising the School of Law

The Law Advisory Board gives the school advice on:

  • its courses and units, including the development of new courses or units
  • teaching and learning, including using online, distance education, or flexible delivery methods
  • the skills, knowledge and attributes required by the employers of graduates who complete courses or units taught by the school
  • research, including opportunities for securing research funding
  • the development by the school of the disciplines it embraces
  • industry links and placements
  • consultancy opportunities
  • other matters, as appropriate.

Composition and members

Our Executive Dean and Faculty Board appoint members for three years (renewable for one further three-year term). The board is made up of: 

  • external members: at least three representatives of the employer groups or professions that employ graduates from the School of Law 
  • graduates: a graduate from the school 
  • internal members: the Executive Dean or Head of the Law School, a course or discipline Coordinator and a student enrolled in law
  • a Secretary from the School of Law 
  • a Chair who is external to Deakin and regarded highly in law.

External members

Chair – The Hon Justice Ross RobsonSupreme Court of Victoria
The Hon Chief Justice Will AlstergrenChief Justice of the Family Court of Australia and Chief Judge of the Federal Circuit Court
The Hon Justice David AshleyCourt of Appeal , Supreme Court of Victoria
The Hon Justice Joshua WilsonFamily Court of Australia (Deakin Alumnus)
Philip CataniaPartner – Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Andrew FordNational Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)
Dr Ming KalanonGraduate, Norton Rose Fulbright (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)
Caroline Kenney QC
President, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (Australia) – (CIArb)
John Pesutto MPShadow Attorney General
Jim RutherfordMember – Geelong Law Association/Harwood Andrews
Dan SimmondsLawyer – Mast Lawyers
Paul Sokolowski

Partner – Arnold Bloch Leibler (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)

Duncan Travis

Partner – Allens Linklaters (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)

Internal members

Professor Jenni Lightowlers Dean of Law and Head of School
Professor Marilyn McMahonDeputy Dean
Professor Dan Meagher Director, Research
Dr Sharon Erbacher Director of LLB
Dr Jason Taliadoros Director of Teaching
Dr Gabrielle Wolf Director, Juris Doctor
Professor Jean Du Plessis Director, LLM and DLS, Director International
Michelle Bendall Law Librarian

Student representatives

Name Position
Tom WalshPresident, Deakin Law Students Society, Burwood
Reid HadawayPresident, Deakin Law Students Society, Geelong and Warrnambool


Name Position
Alison Buchanan Administrative Officer, Academic Programs and Governance