Staff listing

Contact a Deakin Law School staff member, see their staff profile or read their publications.

Head of school, Dean of Law

Professor Jenni Lightowlers

Jenni is considered one of Australia's leading advisors to universities (both in Australia and the South Pacific) and has a deep understanding of the university and higher education sectors, particularly their compliance and operational issues.

School Executive

Dean of Law
Jenni Lightowlers

Deputy Dean of Law
Marilyn McMahon

Director of Research
Alfred Deakin Professor Matthew Groves

Associate Head of School
Sharon Erbacher

Director of International and the Master of Law
Jean du Plessis

Director, Juris Doctor (JD)
Dr Tamsin Paige

Director, Bachelor of Laws
Associate Professor Gabrielle Wolf

Academic coordinators


Director, Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Associate Professor Gabrielle Wolf

Deputy Director, Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Dr Antje Kreutzmann-Gallasch

Director, Bachelor of Laws (Honours) (LLB Hons)
Dr Colin Campbell

Director, Juris Doctor (JD)
Dr Tasmin Paige

Director, Master of Laws (LLM)
Professor Jean du Plessis
Director, Master of Professional Accounting and Law (MPAL)
Dr Zehra Gulay Kavame Eroglu

Director of HDR

Dr Ben Saunders
Director International
Professor Jean du Plessis 

Coordinator, Recognition of prior learning

Dr Penny Gleeson
Program Coordinator, Deakin Law Clinic
Michele Tucker
Moot Director
Dr David Tan


Emeritus professors

Adjunct professors

Adjunct Professor Gillian North
Adjunct Professor the Honourable Justice Ross Robson
Adjunct Professor the Honourable Justice Josh Wilson

Associate professors

Senior lecturers


Associate lecturers

Teaching scholars

Research Fellow

Clinical solicitors

Current HDR students

NamePhD topicPrincipal supervisorAssociate supervisorExternal supervisor  / research adviser
Shiran ShahafAdvancing International Norms of Cyber WarfareDr Shiri KrebsDr John Morss
Kathryn (Katie) MillerIs Administrative law fit for the Technology Age?Alfred Deakin Professor Matthew GrovesProf. Dan Meagher
Jonathan Ajogwu AndeSustaining Equity Crowdfunding: Broader Responsibilities for PlatformsProf. Jean Du PlessisDr Zehra Gulay Kavame Eroglu
Akanksha JumdeAn Analysis of Mandatory CSR Provisions under Indian Company LawProf. Jean Du PlessisAssoc. Prof. Fara Azmat
Ninia Farhana RezaCSR is often lost in supply chains of host states, as moral self-regulation is insufficientProf. Jean Du PlessisAssoc. Prof. Jason Taliadoros
Kelly GreenToward a Cohesive Theory of Search Engine Liability in DefamationDr Sharon ErbacherAssoc. Prof. Jason Taliadoros
Leon WolffHow Does Law Matter in Japan?Prof. Gillian NorthDr Oscar Roos
Cam TruongHow effective has trade practices laws been in Australia?Dr Sharon ErbacherDr Claudio Bozzi
Paul McGorreryCriminalising Psychological HarmsProf. Marilyn McMahon
External Supervisor: Dr Kelley Burton
Research Adviser:
Prof Samantha Hepburn
Katrina HoganCreating an Australian framework to nurture conscious capitalism offshore
Prof. Jean Du Plessis
Dr Melanie TanConcepts of Risk at the Interface of Health and Law: Bridging the GapAssoc. Prof. Sonia AllanProf. Danuta MendelsonExternal Supervisor: Ivan Hare
Dr Carol Anne NewlandsThe Role of the Medical Panels in VictoriaProf. Danuta Mendelson

Dr Sharon Erbacher
Assoc. Prof. Jason Taliadoros

Vivek ChandraRe-examining the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS): 30 years of facilitating resolution or complicating maritime boundary dispute settlements in areas of petroleum deposits?Dr John MorssDr Claudio Bozzi 
Assoc. Prof. Pieter Badenhorst

Edwin Amos Awuor TongoiMobile Financial Services: Regulatory responses-Kenya, South Africa and AustraliaProf. Jean Du PlessisDr Ben Saunders
Dr Elizabeth Kirley 

Dakshina ChandraNexGen Legal Services: A Regulatory Landscape for Optimizing Futuristic TechnologiesAlfred Deakin Professor Matthew GrovesDr Claudio Bozzi
Lisa RogersThe International Legal Framework for Intangible Cultural HeritageAssoc. Prof. Jason Taliadoros
External Supervisor: Prof. Christoph Antons
Richard James PolkinghornRetrospective study of applications made to Victorian Civil & Administrative TribunalProf. Danuta MendelsonAssoc. Prof. Jason Taliadoros
George Douglas RaittMisuse of Market Power and the Hypothetical Competitive Market StandardProf. Danuta Mendelson

Contact us

Get in touch or visit us at our Melbourne Burwood, Geelong Waterfront or Warrnambool Campuses.
+61 3 9244 6555

Email Deakin Law School