2019 Residential Unit Census Dates

This page contains the teaching periods and census dates for students studying a Residential Unit through Deakin Business School in 2019.

University opening dates

University opening dates

University and public holidays and dates for 2019 by event, date and whether open or closed*
EventDateOpen/closed*
New Year's Day Tuesday 1 January Closed
University holiday Wednesday 2 January Closed
University opens for 2019 Thursday 3 January Open
Australia Day Holiday Monday 28 January Closed
Labour Day Monday 11 March Open
Good Friday Friday 19 April Closed
Saturday of Easter weekendSaturday 20 AprilClosed
Easter Sunday Sunday 21 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 22 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 23 April Closed
ANZAC Day Thursday 25 April Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 10 June Open
AFL Grand Final Eve Friday 27 September Closed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 5 November Open
University holiday Monday 23 December 2019 - Wednesday 1 January 2020 Closed
Christmas Day Wednesday 25 December Closed
Boxing Day Thursday 26 December Closed
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January 2020 Closed
University opens for 2020 Thursday 2 January 2020 Open

*When CLOSED is indicated, please note that our libraries may still be available on some days when the Uni is closed, please check the library website to confirm opening hours.

Residential dates

Residential units are offered through Deakin Business School. For a full list of units available, fees and further information, visit Residential units.

Residential 1

DateEvent
Monday 4 March Teaching period begins
Sunday 7 April Census date
Thursday 23 May Teaching period ends

Residential 2

DateEvent
Monday 29 April Teaching period begins
Sunday 2 June Census date
Thursday 18 July Teaching period ends

Residential 3

DateEvent
Monday 27 May Teaching period begins
Sunday 30 June Census date
Thursday 15 August Teaching period ends

Residential 4

DateEvent
Monday 16 September Teaching period begins
Sunday 20 October Census date
Thursday 5 December Teaching period ends

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Residential study period and receive a 50% refund

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Residential study period or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current study period
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for the study period
  • Last day to withdraw from current Residential study period without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current Residential study period units without reference on academic record

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration