2020 Research Degree dates

Dates relating to scholarships and international fees are listed here for students studying a research degree.

Applications for candidature without scholarship may be made at any time. Applications for candidature and scholarships must be made by the applicable deadline. Commencement of candidature is not confined to Deakin's trimesters.

For further details on research scholarships available and application deadlines, see Scholarships.

Please note that the Doctor of Psychology (Clinical or Health streams) has only one yearly intake. More information is at Deakin's How to apply.

2020 Research Degree Census dates

2020 Research Degree Census dates
EventDate
2020 Quarter 1 Census date for international candidates Tuesday 31 March
2020 Quarter 2 Census date for international candidate Tuesday 30 June
2020 Quarter 3 Census date for international candidates Wednesday 30 September
2020 Quarter 4 Census date for international candidates Thursday 31 December
University and public holidays and dates for 2020 by event, date and whether Deakin is open or closed*
EventDateDeakin open/closed*
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January Closed
University opens for 2020 Thursday 2 January Open
Australia Day Holiday Monday 27 January (in lieu of 26 January) Closed
Labour Day Monday 9 March Open
Good Friday Friday 10 April Closed
Saturday of Easter weekend Saturday 11 April Closed
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 13 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 14 April Closed
ANZAC Day Monday 27 April (in lieu of 25 April) Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 8 June Open
AFL Grand Final Eve TBC Closed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 3 November Open
University holiday TBC Closed
Christmas Day Friday 25 December Closed
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December Closed
New Year's Day Friday 1 January 2021 Closed
University opens for 2021 TBC Open

*When CLOSED is indicated, please note that our libraries may still be available on some days when the Uni is closed, please check the library website to confirm opening hours.

Census date explained

The census date is important as it is the last date to finalise aspects of your enrolment and fee obligations as detailed below.

International students:

International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from current Semester and receive a 50% refund.

Domestic students:

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from current Semester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported, HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP or SA-HELP students to make full or partial upfront payments for current Semester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Semester
  • Last day to withdraw from current Semester without incurring the Student Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).

All students

Last day to withdraw from current Semester units without reference on academic record.

StudentConnect

Login to StudentConnect to check your fees or change your enrolment.

For further assistance contact Student Central.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Division of Student Administration