Australian Business Consultancy Program

What is the ABC program?

Students will work in small consultancy teams to explore and develop a strategy in response to a specific business problem. The problem will be provided by Australian organisations from a range of sectors, sizes and locations.

Each week students will be engaged in a combination of program tailored content, hands-on project work, independent and team meetings, and mentor sessions with the program leader. You will also have three opportunities to liaise with your client (initial interview, mid-project review and final presentation/pitch day). Under the guidance and supervision of an industry program leader, students will liaise with the organisation to understand the nature of the problem, their requirements and capabilities. The consultancy teams will work together to develop and deliver their assigned organisation a final report and presentation of suggested strategies.

This program is offered in a blended capacity, with sessions being split on-campus (Burwood), and online. Students are expected to be able to attend campus sessions in person.

Who can apply?

This program is available for credit to undergraduate and postgraduate students across all faculties and campuses, who are eligible to use a WIL unit towards their degree.

Program enrolment

Successful students are eligible to undertake this for 1 credit point and are required to enrol in:

It is your responsibility to ensure that taking a WIL unit contributes towards your course requirements, and will not prevent you from meeting your course rules. Please speak with a Student Adviser if you are unsure; you can contact them on buslaw@deakin.edu.au or (03) 9244 6555.

How to apply?

Applications for T2 2021 are now OPEN and places are strictly limited. To be considered, you must submit an online application by clicking HERE.

Applications will close Tuesday 18 May 2021.

Please email the WIL team at bl-wil@deakin.edu.au if you have any questions or issues about your application.

Key dates

Trimester weeksDateActivities
O-week Thurs 8 July - 10am – 12pm Orientation session
Location: Burwood campus
Week 1 Mon 12 July - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 15 July OR Fri 16 July

Content session - Location: Burwood campus

Mentor session - Location: Online via MSTeams

Week 2 Mon 19 July - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 22 July OR Fri 23 July

Content session - Location: Burwood campus

Mentor session - Location: Online via MSTeams

Week 3 Mon 26 July - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 29 July OR Fri 30 July        

Content session - Location: Burwood campus

Mentor session - Location: Online via MSTeams

Week 4 Mon 2 Aug - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 5 Aug OR Fri 6 Aug     

Content session - Location: Burwood campus

Mentor session - Location: Online via MSTeams

Week 5 Mon 9 Aug - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 12 Aug OR Fri 13 Aug

Content session - Location: Burwood campus

Mentor session - Location: Online via MSTeams

Week 6 Mon 23 Aug - 11am – 3pm

Thurs 26 Aug OR Fri 27 Aug
Presentations
Week 7 TBAReport due

Content session topics and order subject to change.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Faculty of Business & Law