Bachelor of Occupational Therapy

Introduction - practice education

Practice Education is a major component of the Bachelor of Occupational Therapy degree. In order to satisfy the requirements of the degree each student much complete 1000 hours of work experience within the industry working with qualified occupational therapists.

This website is designed to provide information to current and future students, practice education agencies, and supervisors with easy access to information, policy and forms used in the Deakin University's Occupational Science and Therapy practice education program.

The student practice education manual provides help to students studying fieldwork, and is recommended for all students.

The schedule for 2022 can be found here.

Hand TherapyHand therapists are occupational therapists that specialise in the rehabilitation of patients who have experienced trauma to their hand, elbow or shoulder.

Contact us

If you are having any difficulties with regards to practice education, please seek assistance immediately to help resolve any issues that you may be facing. The Practice Education team consists Unit Chairs whose units contain a practice education component, Deakin Practice Education Supervisors, and Practice Education Administration.

Current Students and Agencies

Deakin University Occupational Science and Therapy Practice Education Staff

Kelly Barker, Professional Placement Officer
Location: Waterfront Campus
Phone 03 5247 9432 
Email hsd-otpraced@deakin.edu.au

Kelli Nicola-Richmond - Practice Education Coordinator
Phone 03 5227 8418
Email k.nicolarichmond@deakin.edu.au

Deakin Practice Education Facilitators (DPEFs)

Kieva Richards
Phone: 5227 8079
Email kieva.richards@deakin.edu.au

Pearse Fay
Phone: 5227 8322
Email pearse.fay@deakin.edu.au

Nikki Lyons
Phone: 0419 511 442
Email nikki.lyons@deakin.edu.au

Kelli Nicola-Richmond  
Phone 03 5227 8418
Email k.nicolarichmond@deakin.edu.au

Emma Clark
Phone:  03 5227 3551
Email emma.clark@deakin.edu.au

Michael Henry
Email michael.henry1@deakin.edu.au

Jacqui Edwards
Email j.edwards@deakin.edu.au

Please note that DPEFs have requested that they be called during business hours ONLY

Units Chairs / Lecturers

Associate Professor Genevieve Pepin - Discipline Leader
Phone 03 5227 8462
Email genevieve.pepin@deakin.edu.au

Val Watchorn - Course Director/Unit Chair
Phone: 03 5227 8069 
Email valerie.watchorn@deakin.edu.au

Associate Professor Kirk Reed - Course Lead Honours Stream
Phone: 03 5227 3335
Email k.reed@deakin.edu.au

Kelli Nicola-Richmond - Senior Lecturer/Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8418
Email k.nicolarichmond@deakin.edu.au

Kieva Richards - Lecturer/Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8079
Email kieva.richards@deakin.edu.au

Pearse Fay - Lecturer/Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8322
Email pearse.fay@deakin.edu.au

Sally Logan - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone: 03 5227 8116
Email sally.logan@deakin.edu.au

Emma Clark- Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone: 03 5227 3551
Email emma.clark@deakin.edu.au

Student Life

Deakin University's Student Life offers students a wide variety of services that include counselling, issues affecting study and motivation issues.

Information for prospective Practice Educators

Please visit our page for Innovation and Evaluation Placements for Practice Educators.

Last updated:
Page custodian: Faculty of Health