Register to become a SEBE PSN Mentor

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment students only.

To be eligible to apply to be a Mentor you must:

  • Have completed at least two trimesters of study at Deakin
  • Have achieved a minimum Weighted Average Mark (WAM) of 70
  • Be available to attend one of the compulsory training days for the relevant trimester (see table below)
    Mentors who have attended full day training in the past only need to attend half day training prior to each trimester they will be mentoring in.
  • Obtain a Working with Children Check (WWC)
    A WWC is free for Volunteers. Visit the WWC website for more information
  • Be available throughout the first 5 weeks of trimester to conduct weekly mentor meetings (approximately 2 hours per week). Mentors are also encouraged to participate in additional PSN activities throughout the trimester.

Position Description for the Mentor role (PDF, 186.6KB)

Application and training dates:

Trimester Trimester 1 2021 Trimester 2 2021 Trimester 3 2021
Applications Open Monday 9 November 2020 Monday 8 March 2021 Monday 12 July 2021
Applications Close Sunday 24 January 2021 Sunday 20 June 2021 Sunday 10 October 2021
Training
  • Tuesday 9 February 2021
  • Thursday 11 February 2021
  • Tuesday 16 February 2021
  • Thursday 18 February 2021
  • Friday 19 February 2021
  • Tuesday 29 June 2021
  • Thursday 1 July 2021
  • Tuesday 26 October 2021
  • Thursday 28 October 2021

Applications received during the relevant open period will be assumed to be applying for the next available trimester.

Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*).

Your details
Course details
Location *
Type of student *
Program participation
Have you been a SEBE Peer Mentor before? *
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 100 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Please keep your response to a maximum of 200 words
Were you a Mentee in your first trimester at Deakin? *
How did you hear about the Program?
Enter another way that you heard about the program
Agreement
Please read and understand Applicants will usually be contacted two weeks prior to the scheduled training date and advised of the outcome of your application.

Applicants may be required to attend a group interview as part of the recruitment process.

Information collected on this form will be used by the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment for the purposes of the Peer Support Network Program. You are able to contact sebe-psn@deakin.edu.au at any time to update your details or withdraw your application.
Last updated:
Page custodian: Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment