Nanosafety Committee Members


Leslie Yeo

Leslie Yeo is a Professor of Chemical Engineering, an Australian Research Council Future Fellow and Director of the Micro/Nanomedical Research Centre. He is also currently an Adjunct Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Physiology at Monash University’s Faculty of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences. Leslie’s current research interests are in acoustically and electrokinetically driven microfluidics for engineering and biological applications such as drug delivery and nanomedicine, point-of-care diagnostics, tissue engineering and biosensor technology.
+61 3 9925 2596

Lizhong He

Dr Lizhong He is a Senior Lecturer at Department of Chemical Engineering, Monash University. His research focuses on the interface between biomolecules and nanomaterials towards the building of new functional products. His group carries out multidisciplinary research in the field of bioengineering and nanotechnology to develop products that are simple, cost-efficient and environment friendly.
+61 3 990 53437

Maria Davoren

Dr Maria Davoren is a Principal Consultant & Director at Davoren Environmental. Davoren Environmental is a niche environmental consulting firm, with extensive experience in transport regulations and (eco)-toxicity assessments. She has more than 20 years of experience in academia, industry and consulting, Maria has considerable knowledge of toxicity assessments with mammalian and environmental test models and the interpretation of research data.She is also an industry appointed member of Standards Australia’s Nanotechnology Technology Committee (NT-001).
+61 (0)447 079 022

Paul Wright

Paul Wright is the toxicologist and an Associate Professor in the School of Health and Biomedical Sciences, RMIT University. He heads RMIT’s Nanosafety Research Group and led RMIT’s large contribution to the Australian Consortium for the OECD’s recent nanosafety testing program. Paul is the founding coordinator of the Asia Nano Safe and NanoSafe Australia research networks, and the nanosafety advisor to the Australian Nanotechnology Network (ANN). He has directly advised several Australian Federal and state government authorities and committees on nanosafety issues and was previously an appointed member of both the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) Advisory Committee on Health and Nanotechnology (ACHN) and the Standards Australia’s Nanotechnology Technology Committee (NT-001). Paul is a Fellow of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) and was formerly an elected director of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX).”
+61 3 9925 6512

Steve Spoljaric

Dr Steve Spoljaric is the laboratory manager for the Nanostructured Interfaces and Materials Science (NIMS) Group at Melbourne University. He has his background in Polymer Science and Engineering at RMIT University. He worked as a research fellow at Aalto University within the Polymer Technology Research Group from 2012-2018. A large part of his research and teaching involved the functionalisation, processing and characterisation of polymer nanocomposites. This primarily centred on nanocellulose, carbon nanotubes, titanium dioxide and silica, amongst other nanomaterials. Steve current role’s covers the safe synthesis, storage, characterisation and transport of various nanoparticles, while supporting research investigating the influence of nanoparticles on human cells and tissue. Since the scales range from several grams to several kilograms, he ensures that active measures are in place to prevent any risk of ingestion or excessive exposure. He facilitates and ensures that safe synthesis practices are in place and that the external collaborators and visitors are aware of OHS policies.
+61 3 8344 4702

Vipul Bansal

Vipul Bansal is a Professor, Biological and Biomimetic synthesis of nanomaterials at RMIT. The key activities include chemical synthesis of functional colloids, biomaterials and nanostructured surfaces, structure-function relationship of nanomaterials, application of nanotechnology in optically-tunable theranostics, diagnostics, biological imaging, tissue-targeted therapy, wound healing, antimicrobials, catalysis, sensing, and flexible electronics. Also, real-world translation of nanotechnologies for biomedical and industrial applications. He has affiliations with NBRL (Nanobiotechnology research laboratory) and is a Director of Ian PotterBioSensing facility. Also, a committee member, nanotechnology research advisory group of ATN and ISTA.
+61 3 9925 2121


Aaron Schultz

Aaron Schultz is a Lecturer in Animal Biology. Dr. Schultz's main research interests lie in examining the transformation and behaviour of engineered nanomaterial’s in complex media, the uptake mechanisms and potential toxicity of engineered nanomaterials on living systems, and potential therapeutic applications of nanomaterials in medicine. He is also a co-investigator in a new collaborative project that is examining the potential therapeutic application of novel nanomaterials to treat neurological diseases and cancer.
+61 3 924 45433

David Gleadon

David Gleadon is a technical manager in the school of life and environmental sciences at Deakin.
+61 3 924 68693

Helen Barry

Helen Barry is a laboratory manager in the school of medicine at Deakin.
+61 3 522 71267

Matthew Connolly

Matthew Connolly is Manager, Health Safety and Environment/well-being at Deakin University. This area is a starting point for any students in the faculty who require more information about Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) issues whilst studying in the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment.
Phone +61 3 522 71370

Md Mukhlesur Rahman

Dr Mukhlesur Rahman is a research fellow in Institute of Frontier Materials.
+61 3 522 72642

Sarah Shigdar

Dr Sarah Shigdar is a Senior Lecturer in Medical Science. She is focused on the development of aptamers, also known as chemical antibodies, for their use in both diagnostic and therapeutic applications. Dr Shigdar's main focus is on the use of aptamers for the treatment of neurological disorders - brain cancers, brain metastases, and neurodegenerative disorders.
+61 3 522 72846

Warren Kennedy

Warren Kennedy is a senior consultant in the Department of health, well-being and safety at Deakin. He is responsible for research & laboratory safety systems auditing. General OHS consultancy into high risk activities
+61 3 924 68269

Yasmin Asif

Dr Yasmin Asif is a Radiation and Nanomaterials Coordinator in Research Integrity at Deakin.
+61 3 924 68755

Last updated:
Page custodian: Deakin Research