Division of Student Administration


Deakin University - E-election - Faculty of Health Board

Welcome to the Deakin University - E-election web-site.

Click here to vote

Candidates' Statements


Ms Melissa Cowan

My career to date has been in the finance industry. I completed a Bachelor of Business (obtaining a distinction average) majoring in Finance and have been based in Singapore with the Macquarie Group for the last five years.

I have extensive experience working with and leading culturally diverse transaction teams.

I am presently returning to study to pursue a career change in a field that I am extremely passionate about – health and nutrition. I will be commencing my postgraduate coursework with Deakin University in March 2014 and look forward to being involved in the university on various levels

Ms Sarah Khor

Ms Sarah Khor is seeking appointment on the Health Faculty Board. She completed an undergraduate degree in Science and Engineering (Honours) from Monash University and is currently employed as a Research Engineer at Boeing Aerostructures Australia. She has previously worked in industry and research respectively, as a product technologist at Bluescope Steel and a materials scientist at CSIRO. She is currently undertaking further education in Psychology at Deakin and volunteers as a Visiting Friend (Wesley Mission's Metro Do Care program) and a Community Visitor (Office of Public Advocate). Sarah is looking forward to contributing to the Faculty on this Board.

Ms Melissa Pollard

I am a mature age student currently enrolled full time in the Master of Human Nutrition, with four units completed.

I hold a Bachelor of Social Science (Social Policy) (UQ) and a Graduate Certificate in Legal Studies (QUT) and have worked in tertiary education, the Australian Government (tertiary education policy and programs) and in the private sector.

During my undergraduate degree I was a student representative on the School Academic Board and an elected committee member of my student association.

I am a Golden Key Society member (UQ chapter) and have served on committees for community-based organisations.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

14th November 2013