1981-1991 Victoria College (Toorak)

Keyboard lab 1980s
In 1981-1982 in accordance with the Victorian Government's policy of amalgamating State Colleges of Victoria with Colleges of Advanced Education, The State College of Victoria (Toorak) amalgamated with S.C.V. (Burwood), S.C.V. (Rusden) and the Prahran College of Advanced Education to form Victoria College. In doing so, Victoria College became the largest College of Advanced Education in eastern Melbourne Victoria.


 Victoria College 1991 student diary
With the Dawkins higher education reforms announced in 1988 by the Commonwealth Government, Victoria College became part of Deakin University just seven years after its establishment, including its' campuses at Toorak, Burwood and Rusden.


At its foundation, Victoria College was primarily a teachers college but at the time of merging with Deakin in 1991, it offered a diverse range of study areas including education, languages, business and nursing.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

26th November 2009