Alumni awards

Our alumni have made significant contributions to their communities, professions and to our university.

Each year Deakin University's Alumni Awards recognise outstanding graduates who are connected by their shared goal of changing the world for the better.

2024 Deakin University Alumni Awards

This year's recipients, selected by the Vice-Chancellor, demonstrate excellence in their chosen field and make valuable contributions to the University and their communities, both locally and globally. Deakin President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Iain Martin, announced the recipients of the 2024 Deakin Alumni Awards on 6 March 2024. You can watch the announcement, see the recipients’ inspiring videos and leave a message of congratulations on the Alumni Awards website.

Alumni Excellence Award winners

Antoinette Braybrook AM

Bachelor of Laws, 2000
Faculty of Business and Law

Play now (2:32)

Fiona Campbell

Bachelor of Commerce, 1991
Faculty of Business and Law

Play now (2:21)

Lesley Harvey

Master of Child Play Therapy, 2020
Faculty of Health
Play now (1:54)

Sheree Marris

Bachelor of Science (Aquatic Science), 1997
Faculty of Health

Play now (2:36)

Dr James Mullins

PhD, 2009; Bachelor of Engineering, 2003
Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Play now (2:08)

Young Alumni Excellence Award winners

Rhydian Cowley

Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Commerce, 2015
Faculty of Business and Law, Faculty of Arts

Play now (1:58)

Rabbi Gabi Kaltmann

Master of Social Work, 2019
Faculty of Health

Play now (2:22)

James Murphy

Bachelor of Commerce, 2017
Faculty of Business and Law

Play now (2:29)

Sandeep Namburu

Master of Business Administration (International), 2018
Faculty of Business and Law

Play now (2:21)

Alexandra Viney

Bachelor of Exercise and Sport Science, 2019
Faculty of Health

Play now (2:32)

2025 Alumni Awards key dates

Do our Alumni Award recipients sound like you or someone you know? Nominations are now open for Deakin’s 2025 Alumni Awards. The winners will be announced in April 2025.

Alumni awards videos

Our Alumni Award Winners YouTube playlist includes video interviews with our alumni, previous years dinners, speeches and more.

Explore the videos

Connect with us

Stay in touch with us to hear about the latest alumni opportunities, Deakin news and research and much more. You can email the Alumni Engagement team or connect with us on LinkedIn or Facebook.