Study onshore and online with us

Deakin is a highly ranked, internationally recognised university that aims for excellence in all its activities.

In deciding to study at Deakin, you'll be provided with an outstanding academic program and an exceptional student experience.

As our borders open, we are excited to welcome International Exchange and Student Abroad Students back onshore at our Deakin campuses. We will continue to offer the ONLINE Exchange and Study Abroad program, due to its success and suitability for some students.

If you are thinking of applying to Deakin or have already lodged your application, we look forward working with you preparing you for your studies at Deakin. Email us for more information.

What are you applying for?

This is your chance to explore a new culture, gain a global perspective, make friends from all over the globe and discover the world from down under. Take advantage of this highly rewarding experience while you build international links and diversify your portfolio.

Choose your study type to find out how to apply for your program.


We are partnered with hundreds of universities globally – find out if your university is a Deakin exchange partner.

Learn more about exchange

Study abroad

Not a partner? Not a problem. We have different study abroad options to keep your education journey on track.

Learn more about study abroad

Specialised programs

Discover other programs available to you.

Learn more about specialised programs

Explore the Inbound Study Abroad guide

Find everything you need to know about studying at Deakin as an exchange or study abroad student. Learn about your study destination, the many areas of study to choose from and how to start the application process.

Download the 2024 Inbound Study Abroad Guide (PDF, 2.1MB)

Why come to Deakin?

As one of Australia's leading tertiary education providers, Deakin offers a personalised experience enhanced by world-class programs and innovative digital engagement. We lead by creating opportunities to live and work in a connected, evolving world.

Discover our inspiring campuses

Discover our inspiring campuses

Check out our campuses and get a feel for why we are the #1 university for course satisfaction in Victoria.*

Life at Deakin

Digital Deakin

At Deakin, we are digital innovators. We use cutting-edge technology to provide personal and flexible learning experiences for our students. This includes helping you manage your course requirements, stay in control of your study, improve your skills and find your way across campus, all at the touch of a button.

Learn more about digital technology for students at Deakin


There are plenty of accommodation options for international students, whether you would like to live on campus or off. We can help you find somewhere

to live, and somewhere to stay when you first arrive.

Discover our on and off-campus accommodation

Deakin University Student Association (DUSA)

The Deakin University Student Association (DUSA) is run for students by students. They are here to help you get the best out of your uni experience with opportunities, activities and services. Join DUSA at an event, in a sports club, on a trip, or in a short course.

Learn more about Deakin University Student Association (DUSA)

I got to participate in unforgettable events. I have met so many cool people, and the friendships I have made along the way and the memories we all share are something I will cherish the rest of my life.

Christian Jensen

Aarhus Business School, Denmark

Benefits of studying with Deakin

Studying abroad will not only give a fresh perspective on your studies but also enable you to become a part of a global community. Here at Deakin, we encourage you to come out of your comfort zone and immerse yourself into a culture that is different to your own – create networks, make lifelong friends from all over the world and discover a new path full of opportunities.

Embrace the life of adventure and being spontaneous as you gain life experience and welcome a new found appreciation of everything. Experiencing a different style of teaching will allow you to think outside the box and gain a competitive edge – not to mention it will look good on your CV and show prospective employers that you have a high level of adaptability.

Global Citizenship Program

The Global Citizenship Program is a free program available to all Deakin students and offers you the opportunity to earn a suite of digital credentials by completing various internationally-focused activities.

Apply now to enhance your cross-cultural capabilities, increase your employability, and expand your global perspectives with the Global Citizenship Program.

Learn more about Deakin’s Global Citizenship Program

Pre-approved study options

Deakin has a great range of pre-approved unit options available. These have no prerequisites, which means you are granted direct entry upon application. Any other units that you select that are not on this list will be sent to their respective faculty along with your academic transcript for approval.

View Discover our pre-approved units here

Streamlined trimester packages

Fast-track your application process by studying streamlined pre-packaged offerings.

Design your own study plan or pick from our recommended offerings and explore your different options

Experience study abroad at Deakin

Experience study abroad at Deakin

Students from all over the world share their stories and experiences of studying abroad and going on exchange at Deakin University in Australia. Making new friends, experiencing the culture and seeing the beautiful sights of Australia was the highlight for everyone.

Learn more about our Welcome Program.

Important dates

Trimester 1, 2024

Application deadline: 30 October 2023

Deakin Abroad Welcome Session: 22 February 2024

Welcome Event: 23 – 24 February 2024

Orientation: 23 February – 1 March 2023

Classes commence: 4 March 2023

Easter vacation/Intra-trimester break: 29 March – 7 April 2024

Teaching period ends: 24 May 2024

Study period: 27 – 31 May 2024

Examinations: 3 – 14 June 2024

Release of results: 4 July 2024

Trimester 2, 2024

Application deadline: 10 April 2024

Orientation: 1 – 5 July 2024

Deakin Abroad Welcome Session: 4 July 2024

Classes commence: 8 July 2024

Intra-trimester break: 12 – 18 August 2024

Teaching period ends: 27 September 2024

Study period: 30 September – 4 October 2024

Examinations: 7 – 18 October 2024

Release of results: 1 November 2024

Trimester 3, 2024

Application deadline: 30 August 2024

Orientation: 28 October – 1 November 2024

Deakin Abroad Welcome Session: TBC

Classes commence: 4 November 2024

Intra-trimester break: 23 December 2024 – 5 January 2025

Teaching period ends: 31 January 2025

Study period: 3 – 5 February 2025

Examinations: 6 – 14 February 2025

Release of results: 27 February 2025

Trimester 1, 2025

Application deadline: 30 October 2024

Deakin Abroad Welcome Session: 20 February 2025 (TBC)

Orientation: 24 – 28 February 2025

Classes commence: 3 March 2025

Intra-trimester break: 18 – 27 April 2025

Teaching period ends: 23 May 2025

Study period: 26 – 30 May 2025

Examinations: 2 – 13 June 2025

Release of results: 3 July 2025

Contact us

If you would like to get in touch, please feel free to send us an email.

Follow our students’ journey on Instagram

If you would like to see what our students get up to on study abroad and exchange programs, check out @destination_deakin on Instagram.


*Australian Graduate Survey 2010–2015, Graduate Outcomes Survey 2016–2023, Quality Indicators for Learning and Teaching (QILT)