Members appointed by Government


Mr Peter Meehan

Professor David Ashbridge

Professor David Ashbridge is the Chief Executive Officer of Barwon Health, the largest regional health service provider in Victoria, employing over 6,000 staff and including a major teaching hospital. Services provided by Barwon Health encompass hospital, mental health, drug and alcohol, community health, aged care and rehabilitation services.

Barwon Health is a cutting edge leader in e-Health and an organisation committed to reform and innovation. Recent significant improvements in the performance of the organisation (both financial and access) have culminated in Barwon Health receiving the Premiers Award for Regional Health Service of the Year in 2011 and Runner Up Regional Health Service of the Year in 2012.

Prior to taking up the position as Chief Executive Officer of Barwon Health, Professor Ashbridge worked for 22 years in the Northern Territory where he initially practiced as a remote area medical officer in Aboriginal communities. He then moved on to become a public health physician, which was followed by a twelve year period in a range of executive roles, culminating in his appointment to Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Department of Health and Families, a position he held from 2006 to 2010. Professor Ashbridge has also been Senior Medical Advisor and Assistant Secretary in the Commonwealth Department of Health, the Chair of the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council and a Board Member of the National E-Health Transition Authority.

Professor Ashbridge was recently awarded his professorship by Deakin University, and he is a member of the Deakin University Council.

In 2013 Professor Ashbridge was appointed to the Victorian Ministerial Health Innovation and Reform Council. Professor Ashbridge is actively involved with the Victorian Department of Health, being part of the Intensive Care Advisory Council, Board of Health Information Systems and various governance groups. His involvement in the Geelong Region includes, Chair of the South West Alliance of Rural Health Executive, membership of the Geelong Prevention Community Model Governance Group (Health Promotion) and Board member of the Committee for Geelong.

MB BS, Master Pub. Hlth, Dpl Child Hlth, Dpl Trop Med, GAICD, Member of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners


Ms Jay Bonnington

Jay started her career as a Chartered Accountant in New Zealand and worked in the UK, USA, Europe and South Africa in senior financial roles. She worked in the construction, engineering and manufacturing, electricity and financial services sectors in Australia, and was National Chief Executive Officer of the Make-A-Wish Foundation Australia until 2005.

Jay now serves as a non-executive company director on a number of boards, including St. John of God Health Care, HESTA Superannuation, Utilities Trust of Australia, JS Bonnington & Associates Pty Ltd and Metropolitan Fire and ES Board.

She is also a Trustee of  the Lord Mayors Charitable Foundation and The Queens Fund, and Chair of The Salvation Army’s Audit Committee (Southern Territory).

Jay is a member of the Finance and Business Affairs Committee.

B.Com (Auck), MBA (Mon) , FCPA, FAICD

Mr James NicolMs Miranda Douglas-Crane

Ms Miranda Douglas-Crane has held senior executive and non-executive board postions in the transport, water, health, education and financial services industries. She was General Manager of Operations with RACV Pty Ltd from 2002 to 2009 and acted as Chief Executive Officer on numerous occasions. Prior to that she was Director Commercial Services and General Manager Corporate Resources with VicRoads betweeen 1994 and 2001.

Miranda is currently a Board member of the National Occupational Licensing Authority and the Western Regional Water Corporation and the RACV Foundation and was previously a Board member of Austin Health and Special Olympics (Victoria).

Miranda is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.



Mr James Nicol

Mr Peter Niblett

Mr Peter Niblett is an executive director in Risk Advisory Services with Ernst & Young in Melbourne. He is the Client Service Partner responsible for the Victorian Auditor-General's Office, the Emergency Services Cluster within the Victorian Government sector and Tasmanian Government.

Prior to joining Ernst & Young in Melbourne, Peter worked with Ernst & Young in London where he co-ordinated the technology activities for Ernst & Young in the UK government sector with responsibilities for delivering large scale projects on procurement and shared services across all government agencies in the UK.

Peter was born in Colac and educated in Geelong, attending Geelong High School, the Gordon Institute of Technology and Deakin University, where he obtained a Bachelor of Commerce in 1985.

Peter is Deputy Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the Finance and Business Affairs Committee and is a Director of Callista Software Services Pty Ltd.


Mr James Nicol

Ms Glenys Phillpot

Ms Glenys Phillpot is a former City Councillor and Mayor of Warrnambool. She was elected to the Warrnambool City Council in 1996, re-elected on four occasions and served four consecutive terms as Mayor from 2003 to 2007. She was Investment Manager at Sinclair Wilson Accountants with responsibility for significant funds under management until 2007.

Glenys retired from the City Council in 2008 but continues an active commitment to a wide range of community initiatives in southwest Victoria, including as a Board member of the Western Region Alcohol and Drug Centre, Director of Peter’s Project Ltd. (Cancer Care for the South West Public Charitable Trust), Chair of the Warrnambool City Art Advisory Committee, President of the Warrnambool and District Historical Society, Chair of the South West Victoria Guns and Cannons Steering committee and Chair of L2P (Learner to Probationary, South West Victoria).

Glenys is dedicated to the development of regional communities and to facilitating leadership opportunities for rural people. She has been particularly active in encouraging women to aspire to community and business leadership roles.

Glenys is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Mr James Nicol

Mr John Stanhope

Mr John Stanhope has extensive experience in governance, finance, accounting and business strategy. He was Chief Financial Officer and Group Managing Director, Finance and Administration with Telstra Corporation Limited from 2003 to 2011 and was an Executive Director of the corporation from 2009 to 2011. He has held numerous company directorships and has been a Director of AGL Energy Limited since 2009 and the Bionics Institute since May 2012. In November 2012 he was appointed Chairman of Australia Post.

From 2006 until 2012 John was a member of the Finance Reporting Council, the peak body responsible for overseeing the effectiveness of the financial reporting framework in Australia.

John has undertaken studies at Deakin University and Stanford University. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia, the Institute of Chartered Accountants, the Australian Institute of Management and the Human Resources Management Institute. He is currently the Chair of the Melbourne International Jazz Festival (MIJF) and has been a Director of the MIJF since 2010.

John is Deputy Chair of the Investment Committee and member of the Finance and Business Affairs Committee.



Back to top