Law Advisory Board

Timing and Purpose

  • The purpose of School of Law Advisory Board is to provide advice on the development of a course, or discipline, on new courses and on revisions to existing courses and to ensure that relevant links are established with the communities that inform the course portfolio of the University. Advisory Boards may also work to establish opportunities for industry-based placements, staff consultancy and the development of applied research.
  • The School of Law Advisory Board meets twice a year.


  • Members are appointed to an Advisory Board by the Faculty Board on the advice of the Pro Vice-Chancellor.  The term of appointment of members will be three years, renewable for one further term of three years. Approval must be sought from the Faculty Board before members are appointed.
  • Chair: A person external to the University of standing in one of the professions relevant to the course or discipline.


  • External: Normally, at least three representatives of the employer groups or professions that employ graduates from the course or of the discipline.
  • Graduates: A graduate from the course or relevant discipline.
  • Internal: The Pro Vice-Chancellor or Head of School in which the course, or discipline, is offered; a Course or discipline Coordinator; and a student enrolled in the course or discipline.
  • Secretary: From the School of Law.

Terms of Reference

To provide advice to the School on all aspects of:

  • the courses and units taught by the School including the development of new courses, or units
  • teaching and learning, including teaching and learning using on-line, distance education, or flexible delivery methods
  • the skills, knowledge and attributes sought by the employers of graduates who complete courses, or units, taught by the School
  • research, including opportunities for securing research funding
  • the development by the School of the disciplines it embraces
  • industry links and placements
  • consultancy opportunities
  • such other matters as the School deems appropriate.


The School is grateful for the contribution of the external and representative members of the Advisory Board:

External MembersPosition
Justice Michelle Gordon
Federal Court of Australia
Jim RutherfordMember – Geelong Law Association
Julie HobbsTransport Accident Commission
Duncan TravisPartner – Allens Arthur Robinson
Dan SimmondsDirector – Harwood Andrews
Paul SokolowskiPartner – Arnold Bloch Leibler
Philip CataniaCorrs Chambers Westgarth Solicitors
Graduate RepresentativePosition
Ms Kate HendersonDeacons
Ms Sky MykytaVictorian Government Solicitor's Office
Internal MembersPosition
Professor Mirko BagaricDean and Head of School
Dr Julie ClarkeAssociate Head of School (Teaching and Learning)
Professor Danuta MendelsonAssociate Head of School (Research)
Professor Louis De KokerGraduate Program Coordinator
Simone LeeLLB Program Coordinator
Jacqui O'LearyLLB Program Coordinator
Helen WoodLaw Librarian
Student RepresentativesPosition
Vanessa Mantella2013 President, Deakin Law Student's Society, Geelong & Warrnambool
Shai Sommer2013 President, Deakin Law Student's Society, Burwood
Hayden Glaister2013 President, Deakin Law Student' Society, Warrnambool
Simone Lee/Jacqui O'LearyLLB Program Coordinator
Page custodian: Faculty of Business & Law
Last updated: