Law Advisory Board

The Law Advisory Board comprises eminent members of the profession who advise Deakin Law School on its courses, disciplines and developing issues.

Advising the School of Law

The Law Advisory Board gives the school advice on:

  • courses and units, including development
  • teaching and learning, including using online, distance education, or flexible delivery methods
  • skills, knowledge and attributes required by the employers of graduates who complete courses or units taught by the school
  • research, including opportunities for securing research funding
  • discipline development
  • industry links and placements
  • consultancy opportunities.

Board structure

The Deakin Law School Executive Dean and Faculty Board appoint board members for three years. Membership is renewable for one further three-year term. The board includes:

  • external members: minimum three representatives of the employer groups or professions that employ graduates from the School of Law
  • internal members: Executive Dean or Head of the Law School, a course or discipline coordinator and a student enrolled in law
  • graduates from Deakin Law School
  • a Secretary from the School of Law
  • an external Chair who is regarded highly in law.

Top 3 law school in Victoria

When you study with us, you’ll be joining our high-performing students at one of the best law schools in Melbourne. Our strong academic and practical foundations provide the basis for a rewarding career in today’s legal profession.

Board members

The Law Advisory board is made up of industry leaders, and Deakin staff and students.

External members

Michelle QuigleyChair of Advisory Board, Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria
Philip Catania Partner – Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Andrew Ford National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)
Dr Ming Kalanon Associate, Norton Rose Fulbright (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)
Caroline Kenny KC President, Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (Australia) – (CIArb)
Jasmine Doak General Manager, People and Culture, Commercial and Corporate – Coles
Leanne Sinclair Associate Director Family Violence Response, Victoria Legal Aid
Paul Sokolowski

Partner – Arnold Bloch Leibler (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)

Diana Taylor AM Director, Diana Taylor Legal Consulting
Duncan Travis

Partner – Allens Linklaters (Deakin Alumnus and Supreme Court Prize Winner)

Internal members

Professor Marilyn McMahon Dean
Professor Dan Meagher Director, Research
Professor Patrick Emerton Acting Deputy Dean and Associate Head of School
Linda  Black School Manager

Student representatives

Name Position
Courtney MacKenziePresident, Deakin Law Students Society, Burwood
Rijja Malihi President, Deakin Law Students Society, Geelong


Name Position
Tracey ThackerSchool Administrative Officer, Faculty of Business and Law

Contact us

Get in touch via email or visit us at our Melbourne Burwood, Geelong Waterfront or Warrnambool campuses.

Email the Law Advisory Board