Orientation

Welcome to your Higher Degree by Research (HDR) studies in the School of Psychology. We hope that you find your research studies to be a rewarding and valuable experience.

To complete your higher degree by research, you need to produce a 50,000 to 100,000 word thesis that reports original research. In addition, as you make progress towards this final product, you need to complete a number of other hurdle requirements including a confirmation procedure and annual reviews. Although it is your supervisor's job to help you with this, there are a number of other sources of support available to you. This website is designed to provide you with helpful information regarding each of these tasks, specific to the School of Psychology. To begin, it is worth reading over the following documents:

The School HDR Induction Manual (PDF, 315KB) contains important information about timelines, requirements and procedures as well as key contacts.

Deakin University's research degree website contains comprehensive information for HDR students about completing your research degree.

The School of Psychology has provided a couple of forms below that you may find useful in your early supervision meetings:

Background and Intake Form (PDF, 31KB)

Expectations In Research Supervision (PDF, 651KB)

HDR Contacts

Lina Ricciardelli is the HDR coordinator and is available to help resolve any issues that may arise during your candidature. To support Lina, there are a number of 'HDR liaisons'.

HDR Coordinator

Lina Ricciardelli

Lina Ricciardelli

Room: BC5.020
Email: lina.ricciardelli@deakin.edu.au
Phone: 9244 6866

HDR Liaison - Burwood

David AustinDavid Austin

Room: BC5.114
Email: david.austin@deakin.edu.au
Phone: 9251 7227

HDR Liaison - Geelong

Lucy ZinkiewiczLucy Zinkiewicz 

Room: C3.006.03
Email: lucy.zinkiewicz@deakin.edu.au
Phone: 5227 8497

Professor Helen Skouteris
Associate Head (Research and Research Training)
School of Psychology
Tel: 9251 7699
Email: helen.skouteris@deakin.edu.au
Location: Burwood, Building BC4.103

Shaun Brown
School Executive Officer
School of Psychology
Tel: 9244 6852
Email: shaun.brown@deakin.edu.au
Location: Burwood, Building BC5.016

Luke Barisic
Senior Technical Officer
School of Psychology
Tel: 9244 6152
Email: luke.barisic@deakin.edu.au
Location: Burwood, Building BC5.052

Juliet Sagar
Senior Finance and Administration Officer (Research)
School of Psychology
Tel: 9244 6095
Email:juliet.sagar@deakin.edu.au
Location: Burwood, Building BC5.040

Maria Hart
Campus Administrative Officer
School of Psychology
Tel: 5227 8110
Email: maria.hart@deakin.edu.au
Location: Waterfront, DCP Building C3.002.1

Beatrice Haselroither
Administrative Officer (Finance)
School of Psychology
Tel: 9244 6095
Email:beatrice.haselroither@deakin.edu.au
Location: Burwood, Building BC5.043

Page custodian: Faculty of Health
Last updated:

Back to top