We’re proud to support international students with a range of scholarship opportunities.

Deakin scholarships for international students

Our scholarships recognise international students with high academic performance and the potential to make a positive contribution to the University and its community.

You must be studying full time in Australia or have applied to study one of our courses full-time to be eligible for an international scholarship.

Browse our scholarships

Australian Government scholarships

The Australian Government offers a number of scholarships to international students for various purposes, including to encourage learning, reduce poverty, enhance stability in certain regions and encourage regional growth in Australia.

Some of these scholarships can be applied via the Australian Government websites listed below, and if you are successful in being awarded one of these scholarships you can choose study at Deakin.

Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships are available to students in certain countries in the Asia–Pacific region. These scholarships are for full-time study in Australia towards an undergraduate, postgraduate or technical degree, and cover:

  • a return airfare to Australia
  • academic and other compulsory fees
  • basic health insurance
  • establishment allowance
  • a living allowance.

Find out more about Australia Awards Scholarships

Destination Australia Scholarships

Interested in studying at a forward-looking institution, on a regional campus which offers state of the art facilities and a friendly, close-knit community? The Australian Government and Deakin University have joined together to offer the Destination Australia Scholarships.

A Destination Australia Scholarships includes a cash payment of A$15,000 each year of study for the normal duration of your degree when studying full time at Deakin Warrnambool Campus.

Find out more about Destination Australia Scholarships

Financial aid

You may be eligible for financial support to study at Deakin if you are from one of the following countries:

  • Denmark: refer to the SU webpage for further information
  • Germany: refer to the Bafög webpage for further information
  • Norway: refer to the Lånekassen webpage for further information
  • Sweden: refer to the CSN webpage for further information
  • Canada: Canadian citizens studying at Deakin University can access funding from the Canadian federal and/or provincial governments. Find out more on our Canada webpage.