Key dates

This page gives you an overview of the key dates if you're considering studying with us. You’ll find the start and finish dates for our main study periods, dates relating to applications and prospective student events, and a few dates where we aren’t available.

If you're already studying with us, the detailed dates and deadlines you need can be found in the University Handbook on the Deakin student website. In the Handbook you’ll find a greater level of detail with weeks of study, last day to enrol, the census date, exam dates, results and more!

Application open dates

We have a number of different study periods. Most courses are offered through our Trimester study system. With three trimesters, the next intake is never far away.

VTAC accepts applications from April through to November every year. Direct applications to Deakin can be made at any time.

Applications through VTAC are now closed. Direct applications for Trimester 1 close 27 February*.

Not all courses are open at each application intake, but generally applications are open during these periods (including non-award and incoming cross institutional applications):

TrimesterApplications openApplications close
Trimester 1, 2017Applications now open27 February
Trimester 2, 2017Applications open April 2017TBC
Trimester 3, 2017TBCTBC

Some courses have different application periods and closing dates:

Browse available courses and closing dates for Trimester 1, 2017

Browse all courses and closing dates through our course finder

Browse deadlines for VTAC applications

* Dates may vary per course. Please check individual course details.

Events and open days

Learn all about Deakin's upcoming talks, conferences, open days and more. 

Find out more about Deakin events

Study periods at Deakin

Most of our courses and units are studied in our Trimester study schedule. To give you an idea of when you’d be studying, an outline of the upcoming Trimester dates is below.

Current Deakin students should turn to the University Handbook for a full list of important dates.

Trimester 1, 2017

DATE EVENT OR DEADLINE
Wednesday 4 January University opens for 2017
Monday 20 February International students Campus orientation and enrolment for students commencing in T1
Monday 27 February Orientation week begins – all students
Monday 6 March T1 teaching period begins
Friday 31 March Census date
Monday 10–Tuesday 18 April Intra-trimester break
Friday 26 May T1 teaching period ends
Saturday 27 May–Sunday 4 June T1 study period
Monday 5 June Exams begin
Friday 16 June Exams end
Monday 19 June–Friday 7 July Inter-trimester break
Thursday 6 July, 6pm T1 results released

Trimester 2, 2017

DATE EVENT OR DEADLINE
Monday 3 July International students campus orientation and enrolment for T2
Monday 10 July T2 teaching period begins
Monday 14 August–Sunday 20 August Intra-trimester break
Tuesday 15 August Census date
Friday 29 September T2 teaching period ends
Saturday 30 September–Sunday 8 October Study period
Monday 9 October Exams begin
Friday 20 October Exams end
Monday 23 October–Friday 3 November Inter-trimester break
Friday 3 November, 6pm T2 results released

Trimester 3, 2017

DATE EVENT OR DEADLINE
Monday 30 October International students T3 campus orientation and enrolment
Monday 6 November
T3 teaching period begins
Friday 15 December Census date
Monday 25 December–Sunday 7 January 2018 Intra-trimester break
Friday 2 February 2018 T3 teaching period ends
Monday 5–Wednesday 7 February 2018 T3 study period
Thursday 8 February 2018 Exams begin
Friday 16 February 2018 Exams end
Monday 19 February–Friday 2 March 2018 Inter-trimester break
Thursday 1 March 2018, 6pm Results released

Some units and courses, outlined below, have different study period dates to the above:

Public holidays at Deakin

2017 public holidays and shut-down dates

Holiday Date Deakin
New Year's Day Sunday 1 January 2017 Closed
New Year's Day additional holidayMonday 2 January 2017Closed 
N/ATuesday 3 January 2017Closed 
Deakin reopens 2017Wednesday 4 January 2017Open
Australia Day Thursday 26 January 2017 Closed
Labour Day Monday 13 March 2017 Open
Good Friday Friday 14 April 2017 Closed
Easter Sunday Sunday 16 April 2017 Closed
Easter Monday Monday 17 April 2017 Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 18 April 2017 Closed
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2017 Closed
Queen's Birthday Monday 12 June 2017 Open
AFL Grand Final Eve TBC Closed
Melbourne Cup Tuesday 7 November 2017Open
Christmas Day Monday 25 December 2017 Closed
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December 2017 Closed

Current students

If you're already studying with us, the dates you need are in the University Handbook. Here you’ll find further details on: 

  • weeks of study
  • the last day to enrol
  • census dates
  • exam dates
  • results dates.

Read the University Handbook on the Deakin student website