Research news

Making a difference

Ms Kathryn Mathews (top) and Ms Adrienne Margarian.
Wed, 17 Sep 2014 14:56:00 +1000
Neil Archbold Memorial travel awards presented to PhD researchers.

Working it out

A depressed man covers his face
Mon, 15 Sep 2014 13:47:00 +1000
Suicide increases with unemployment, finds Professor of Work, Health and Wellbeing.

Housework a menial mental chore

Alfred Deakin Professor Kylie Ball
Thu, 11 Sep 2014 13:37:00 +1000
Research shows that dusting, vacuuming and scrubbing the bath generate exertion and physical health benefits yet bring no mental health rewards.

Awake, Smoky and Hot!

Firefighters in training.
Wed, 10 Sep 2014 15:20:00 +1000
Bushfire CRC webinar to outline firefighter safety guidelines.

Short nanofibre gets a gong

Deakin's Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Lee Astheimer, Dr Teo Slezak, Dr Paul Collins, Dr Alessandra Sutti, Associate Professor Mark Kirkland and Dr Marzieh Parhizkar.
Wed, 10 Sep 2014 13:28:00 +1000
A world first technology platform has received a Victorian Engineering Excellence Award.

The recent history of love and marriage

Dr Michelle Smith
Mon, 08 Sep 2014 08:44:00 +1000
Michelle Smith discusses in the Conversation the reaction to Jane Caro's recent comments on marriage.

Kinder gardens get a makeover

Madeover - Eumemmering childcare centre gets the Fleming treatment.
Wed, 03 Sep 2014 16:49:00 +1000
Educators join with top horticulturalist to improve childcare environments.

'Seven-day Racism Challenge' wins UN recognition

Professor Yin Paradies
Wed, 03 Sep 2014 11:20:00 +1000
'Everyday Racism App' receives second place in Intercultural Innovation Awards.

Carbon Revolution gets the 'Leno' treatment

The Carbon Revolution wheel.
Tue, 02 Sep 2014 12:01:00 +1000
'Thumbs up' for carbon fibre wheel on 'Jay Leno's Garage.'

Heavy metal and the blues

The Director of IMPACT, Professor Michael Berk.
Tue, 02 Sep 2014 09:18:00 +1000
IMPACT researchers find a connection between cadmium and depression.

Calling all health researchers

2014 marks the 10th Anniversary of the Smart Geelong Network Researcher of the Year Awards, the climax of a week of activities recognising the brilliant research and innovation going on in the Geelong region.
Mon, 01 Sep 2014 16:45:00 +1000
Researchers connected with Barwon Health are invited to apply for Research Week awards.

Nature's greatest architects

An impressive bush bower.
Mon, 01 Sep 2014 12:19:00 +1000
Australian male bowerbirds master the art of illusion.

Electrolyte scientists dare to dream

Prof Maria Forsyth, Prof Gordon Wallace (University of Wollongong) and Deakin University Vice-Chancellor Prof Jane den Hollander at the opening of ISPE-14.
Mon, 01 Sep 2014 10:12:00 +1000
The world's leading electrolyte scientists have converged in Geelong for ISPE-14.

Head bumps matter

Dr Alan Pearce.
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 16:52:00 +1000
Webinar to explore the latest concussion research.

Diabetes takes mental health toll

Professor Jane Speight
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 15:32:00 +1000
Supporting people with diabetes requires looking beyond blood sugar.

Shouldering a new responsibility

Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery, Professor Richard Page.
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 14:19:00 +1000
Professor Richard Page appointed inaugural Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery.

More laurels for 'Dr Seagrass'

The Victorian Minister for Innovation, the Hon Louise Asher MP, presents the Fellowship to Dr Macreadie at Parliament House, Melbourne.
(Photo credit: Peter Casamento)
Wed, 27 Aug 2014 11:04:00 +1000
Prestigious Victoria Fellowship for marine ecologist Peter Macreadie.

Captain for Carbon Nexus

At the helm of Carbon Nexus - Derek Buckmaster.
Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:23:00 +1000
Track record distinguishes new Director, Derek Buckmaster.

High culture gets the motion

Artistic Director with the Australian Dance Theatre, Garry Stewart, Motion.Lab Director, Professor Kim Vincs, and Director of CISR, Professor Saeid Nahavandi.
Mon, 25 Aug 2014 13:32:00 +1000
Motion.Lab helps dance, theatre and opera get digital.

University honour for eminent engineering pioneer

Deakin Vice-Chancellor Professor Jane den Hollander, Dr Babasaheb Neelkanth Kalyani and Deakin Deputy Chancellor Mr Peter Meehan.
Thu, 21 Aug 2014 17:07:00 +1000
Mr Babasaheb Neelkanth Kalyani, has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Deakin University.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

20th August 2012