Concerns and complaints

The following information is for Deakin students. If you are not a student, please go to Contact Deakin

We hope you find your time at Deakin to be enjoyable and rewarding. If you're not happy about something at the University, do let us know! We'll do our best to resolve your concerns and to address any underlying issues.

  1. Check the relevant information and processes

The Concerns or complaints information page provides information on various topics and the names of people who can help you. Note that assessment issues are normally handled by the faculties, through other processes. See Assessment under Your course or unit on the Concerns or complaints information page.

  1. Consider talking to the person or area causing you concern

Sometimes asking more questions or explaining your point of view (respectfully!) can resolve your concerns.

  1. Alternatively, ask someone to help you

Safer Community can help if you feel threatened or unsafe because of the way someone at Deakin is behaving. (If you are at a Deakin campus now and need an immediate response, call Deakin Security on 1800 062 579.) 

A Harassment and Discrimination Contact Officer can help you to clarify what's happening and decide what to do, if you believe you are experiencing discrimination, sexual harassment, victimisation or bullying.

Formal complaints must be sent to studentcomplaints@deakin.edu.au, but the following people can help you to resolve concerns informally:

Points of contact

Faculties and Schools

Area Complaints Contact Email Phone

Faculty of Arts and Education

  Sally Collins
Carolyn Schofield
aepvc@deakin.edu.au 9244 3046
5227 2268

Faculty of Business and Law

All campuses Jen Smith jen.smith@deakin.edu.au 9244 3859
Burwood Jaclyn Benstead j.benstead@deakin.edu.au 924 46182
BurwoodDenise McCluskeydenise.mccluskey@deakin.edu.au 924 46647
Geelong Clare Smith clare.smith@deakin.edu.au 522 73314
Geelong Jo Wilson jo.wilson@deakin.edu.au 5227 2505
Warrnambool Martin O'Brien martin.obrien@deakin.edu.au 5563 3517
Higher Degree by Research Bronwyn Kelly  bronwyn.kelly@deakin.edu.au 5227 2442

Faculty of Health

School of Medicine Simon Callahan simon.callahan@deakin.edu.au 5227 2950
School of Exercise and Nutrition SciencesElissa Turnbullelissa.turnbull@deakin.edu.au9244 6797
School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences Tin Partingtontin.partington@deakin.edu.au  92445032
School of Nursing and Midwifery Jennie Landrigan jennie.landrigan@deakin.edu.au 9244 6986
School of Nursing and Midwifery Michelle Smith  michelle.smith@deakin.edu.au 9244 6604
School of Psychology Shaun Brown shaun.brown@deakin.edu.au 9244 6852
School of Psychology Maria Muthiah maria.muthiah@deakin.edu.au 9244 6843
School of Health and Social Development Kim Jackson k.jackson@deakin.edu.au 5227 2356
School of Health and Social Development Annette Gayfer annette.gayfer@deakin.edu.au 924 45268
Health Student and Academic Services Melinda Thomas  melinda.thomas@deakin.edu.au 925 17115

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Faculty Complaints Contact Jenny Neumann jenny.neumann@deakin.edu.au 522 72119
Faculty Complaints Contact Jan Mackenzie jan.mackenzie@deakin.edu.au 925 17462
Faculty Complaints Contact Yvette Lovelessyvette.loveless@deakin.edu.au 556 33327

Institute of Koorie Education

  Brian Martin b.martin@deakin.edu.au 522 72669

Administration and Services

Issue Designated Complaints Contact:
Admission Domestic students: Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 5227 3385

International students: Ping Khoo
ping.khoo@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 45211                
Building maintenance Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
Cashier Eliza Riding
Email: eliza.ryding@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 43932
Cleaning Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
Customer Service - Deakin Central Jodie Aanensen
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 68106
Enrolment and re-enrolment processes

Cathy Gutierrez
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73385

Examinations Ross Hagland
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9246 8108
Facilities To report maintenance issues:

For potential danger, call Security 1800 062 579. In an emergency, call 000 (add a zero if calling from an internal phone), then call Security.

Fees, finances and refunds Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73342
Food services Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531
Grounds maintenance Jonathan Parkinson
Email: jonathan.parkinson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 71315
Information technology

Nick Jones
Email: nicholas.jones@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 52278664

Library

Burwood - Alyce Greenwood
Email: alyce.greenwood@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 46652

Geelong Waurn Ponds - Fiona Russell
Email: f.russell@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72713

Geelong Waterfront - Bernie Lingham
Email: bernadette.lingham@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78246

Warrnambool - Vanessa Bourne
Email: vanessa.bourne@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 556 33494

Parking

Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531

Residences

Burwood: John Colley
Email: john.colley@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 924 45622

Geelong: Marion Bailey
Email: marion.bayley@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 522 73453

Warrnambool: Gabrielle Tobin
Email: gabrielle.tobin@deakin.edu.au 
Ph: 556 33380               

Research Services Professor Joe Graffam

Email: joseph.graffam@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 73113

Scholarships Pamela Pritchard
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 72342
Security

Phone (free call) 1800 062 579

Complaints Contact: Emma Connan
Email: emma.connan@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 78531

Student administration Ross Hagland - Assessment and Result issues
Email: ross.hagland@deakin.edu.au
Ph:  924 46005

Rebecca Bone - Graduation issues
Email: rebecca.bone@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 527 78063

Cathy Gutierrez - Admission and Enrolment issues
Email: cathy.gutierrez@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 5227 73385

Pamela Pritchard - Fee and scholarship issues
Email: pamela.pritchard@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7232

Jodie Aanensen - Customer Service issues
Email: jodie.aanensen@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 68106

Student support  Salli Bruce
Email: salli.bruce@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 522 7115959
Study overseas Victoria Heron
Email: victoria.heron@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 924 45277
Visa issues and CoE reporting Clare Wilson
Email: clare.wilson@deakin.edu.au
Ph: 9244 5091

  1. Lodge a formal complaint

If the matter is still not resolved, or you would like it handled formally, you should lodge a complaint through the Student Complaints Resolution policy and procedure. The concerns or complaints information page may help you prepare your complaint. You can also email studentcomplaints@deakin.edu.au for specific advice.

  1. Appeal

If you're not happy with the way the University handles your complaint, you may be able to appeal the outcome internally. You can also seek an external review of final University decisions by the Victorian Ombudsman.

For further advice, or to provide feedback or suggestions, please email studentcomplaints@deakin.edu.au

Page custodian: Pro Vice Chancellor (Planning and Integrity)
Last updated: